Quick Links
- Chalk
- Library Catalog Basic Search
- Library Catalog Advanced Search
- Lens
- WorldCat
- Oxford Music Online Includes Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Contains citations and abstracts for international literature on music, including articles, books, dissertations and other types of publications..
- RISM (Répertoire International des Sources Musicales) RISM A/IIThis online-catalog offers around 700,000 references almost exclusively to music manuscripts. These records represent works of some 25,000 composers. The original sources are preserved in the libraries and archives of 32 countries.
- Music Online (Audio) Includes Classical Music Library, American Song, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, and the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, which includes numerous sound clips. Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Naxos Music Library (Audio) Contains over 75,000 audio files of largely classical music, with some other genres represented. Limit to 8 simultaneous users.
Off-Campus Access
Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the main Library website or this and other Subject Guides. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.
If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. IT Services has created the ProxyIt bookmarklet for these situations.
Welcome to the Music Subject Guide

Comments or suggestions on this Guide? Feel free to send email to Scott Landvatter.
About the Collection
The Music Collection, comprising over 120,000 books, 80,000 scores and 54,000 audio and video recordings, supports Music Department programs in music history, music theory, ethnomusicology, and composition. Its traditional strength has been in books about music history and scholarly editions of music. In recent years, greater emphasis has been placed on collecting materials for the study of non-western music and music theory, as well as scores of contemporary music. The 1976 founding of the Chicago Jazz Archive, now part of the Special Collections Research Center, has prompted the development of a strong collection of recordings and books on jazz and blues, as well as popular music. Along with the numerous Finding Aids for the various collections within the Chicago Jazz Archive, a Research Guide is also made available to begin your studies in Chicago-style jazz.
Most of the music collection, including the Recordings Collection, as well as the library's public listening and viewing equipment in Room JRL307, can be found on the Third floor of Regenstein Libray, but many rare items are located in the Special Collections Research Center . If you need help finding music in the library, music staff are available weekdays 9am-5pm in the third-floor office cluster.
New Books, Scores, CDs, DVDs, Etc.
The "New Library Acquisitions Webpage" (see link below) includes links to new acquisitions in all subjects areas from June of 2004 to about 6 -8 weeks prior to the current month. To find new acquisitions that are specific to Music, click on any month. When the next window opens, notice that the left column categorizes library materials according to Subject, based on the Library of Congress classification table. Click on "Music" to see M - Music works (i.e. scores); ML - Literature on Music (i.e. books about music); and MT - Musical instruction and study (includes theory, analysis and vocal and instrumental methods).
Also notice in the right column that materials are categorized according to Format and Location. Under Format, one can click on "Music - Recordings" to find new CDs and on "Films, videos, DVDs, slides, etc." to find videos. New CDs can also be found by Location under Regenstein.
New Library Acquisitions Webpage
Subject Specialist |
Contact Info Bibliographer for Music and Dance Room 362 Regenstein Library Phone: 1-773-702-8447 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Music Call Number Classification
Class M, ML, and MT from the Library of Congress
M = music scores
ML = material about music
MT = music instruction, theory, analysis
Purchase Requests
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. For these suggestions and requests email the Music Bibliographer or you can submit a request by using this form.
Find It!
When searching databases, the
button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the UofC online catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders to the ILL Office for items that the Library does not own.


Loading...
