Skip to main content

Music

Subject and Research Guide

Recordings Collection

The Recordings Collection contains over 52,000 sound recordings, focusing on musical recordings, with some spoken word, as well as audio recordings accompanying print items shelved in Regenstein and Mansueto.

The Collection primarily supports coursework and research at the University. It includes musical recordings of classical (art) music, ethnic music, jazz, blues, rock and roll, R&B, hip-hop and electronic music; spoken word recordings cover subjects in the humanities and social sciences, as well as business, divinity, and area studies.

Various audio formats are represented in the Collection: compact discs (CDs), vinyl records (both LPs and 45s) and audio cassettes.


Requesting Items from the Recordings Collection

The Recordings Collection is located in the Joe and Rika Mansueto Library.

All items with a "Mansueto, Recordings" location may be requested via the Library Catalog and available for pickup within 15 minutes of request during the hours Mansueto is open.

See Requesting Mansueto Items for more information.

Search Recordings by Label


 

All music recording formats
CD
E-Resource

Online Audio

Met Opera on Demand: Student Access

Subject Specialist

Scott Landvatter's picture
Scott Landvatter
Contact:
Bibliographer for Music and Dance
Room 362 Regenstein Library
Phone: 1-773-702-8447
Subjects:Music

Off-Campus Access

Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the main Library website or this and other Subject Guides. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.

If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. IT Services has created the ProxyIt bookmarklet for these situations.

Find out more on their web site.

Purchase Requests

The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. For these suggestions and requests email the Music Bibliographer.  You can also submit a request by using this form.