Finding Journal Articles
- How Do I Find Articles?A highly informative guide to finding articles, using article databases, locating newspaper articles and reviews, and evaluating the scholarly value of an article.
Major Music Journal Articles Indexes
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, though, increasingly, some journals have their most recent issues available in JSTOR. JSTOR indexes 83 music journals. The vast majority have the full-text articles available as PDF downloads. It is important to remember that JSTOR does not have the most recent issues for the bulk of the journals that are indexed.
- Music Index Online This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes articles from more than 690 international music periodicals from 1979 to the present. Classical and popular music are well-represented as are book reviews, music reviews and obituaries. Music Index Online is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index has been available in print since 1949 and online coverage spans from 1976 to the present, containing surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries. It is important to remember that the Music Index contains largely citations and only a very small amount of full-text articles.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowContains citations and abstracts of the international literature on music, including journal articles, articles published in collections of essays, conference proceedings, Festschriften, books, dissertations, and theses. RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) covers all types of publications on music: books, journals, online resources, films, and dissertations. Publications represented in RILM originate from 151 countries. Currently the database includes more than 500,000 abstracts in 214 languages.
- RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles about music and musical life from specialized music journals, newspapers, literary periodicals, theatrical journals and magazines from 1800 to 1950. RIPM indexes articles about music and musical life from specialized music journals, newspapers, literary periodicals, theatrical journals and magazines from 1800 through 1950.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive is now available to University of Chicago students, staff, and faculty. This fully-searchable, digital collection consists of U.S. and British trade and consumer magazines covering film, music, radio, television and theater. The titles are critical to the study of the film and entertainment industries from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through the year 2015
E-Journals
- E-JournalsMusic journals at the University of Chicago that have online full-text coverage for some or all the years of publication
Interim Subject Librarian
Find It!
When searching various Library and online sources, the 
button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders for items that the Library does not own.
Off-campus Access
Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the main Library website or this and other Subject Guides. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.
If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. IT Services has created the ProxyIt bookmarklet for these situations.