General Information Resources
The following resources provide introductions to topics in weather and climatology, definitions, and more.
- Acronyms from Earth Systems Research Laboratory
- ACS Climate Science ToolkitResource for self-education in the basic science of climate.
- A comprehensive glossary of weather terms for storm spotters
- Encyclopedia of Atmospheric SciencesPrint reference on Crerar Library 1st floor at QC854.E53 2003
- Encyclopedia of weather and climatePrint reference on Crerar Library 1st floor at QC854.A45 2002
- Encyclopedia of world climatologyPrint work on Crerar Library 3rd floor at QC854 .E526 2005
- Dictionary of Weather
- World Meteorological Organization Acronyms
Getting Started
Weather and climatology encompasses a broad array of disciplines and a variety of information resources. The collection of resources highlighted here represent only a small fraction of what is available both in print in the library and online through either library purchased resources or on the web. Both current and historical information resources are highlighted. While societal, economic, legal and policy issues related to weather and climate are important areas of study, this guide focuses on scientific and technical information resources. If you have questions, or would like to schedule a consultation to explore additional resources related to your specific research need, please contact me.
Finding Articles
Meteorological and climatological research articles may be located using databases like GeoRef, Web of Knowledge or Scopus or by using a print index in the library. The Royal Meteorological Society and the American Meteorological Society journals can be searched directly. For more e-journals in meteorology and climatology, consult the A-Z e-journals list
- GeoRef
- Meteorological and geoastrophysical abstracts Print index to articles located in Crerar Reference, 1st floor at Z6682.M6
- American Meteorological Society journals
- Quarterly Journal of the Royal Meteorological Society
- Meteorological Applications
- International Journal of Climatology
- Web of Knowledge
- Scopus
Photographs, Video and Audio Files
- FEMA Media LibraryVideo, photo, and audio files related to current FEMA activities, including those involving extreme weather events (e.g., Hurricane Katrina) with links to archival information in the FEMA Photo Library.
- NASA Movie CatalogIncludes still and video images of hurricanes, in addition to space shuttle launches and other non-weather events.
- University of Chicago Bus CamPeek outside the window at the weather, even if you're not sitting by a window!
- Directory of WeathercamsReal time views of the weather of several US cities
- Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory weathercamThis weathercam is located the Harrison-Dever water supply intake crib, approximately 3 miles offshore from the City of Chicago.
- NOAA Photo Library/National Severe Storms Laboratory CollectionGrouped by topic, photographs of hail, tornadoes and lightning are available.
- NOAA Photo Library/National Weather Service CollectionGrouped by topic, albums contain historical photos of storms, measuring instruments and methods, and weather phenomena.
- Hurricanes: Nature's Greatest Storms
- Chasing the Storm: Weather PhotographyNice site with links to several collections of online photos, organized by type of weather phenomenon
Subject Specialist |
Links: Profile & Guides Blog:: Crerar Library News Chat: When Andrea is not available for chat, try Ask a Librarian |




Loading...
