Library Guides: History of Medicine: Biographical information

Finding Books

To find books about a specific person search for their name as a SUBJECT

To find books written by a specific person, search for their name as an AUTHOR

LC Tracer Bullet - African-American Women in the Sciences and Related Disciplines
This guide provides helpful search terms and specific resources

Electronic Resources

Consult Science and Medicine Biography LibGuide for additional print and electronic resources to find biographical information on physicians and other figures in medical history.

Print Resources

Dictionary of scientific biography by Charles Coulston Gillispie
Call Number: Q141.D5
New York : Scribner, [1970-] 18 volume set.
A Biographical History of Medicine: excerpts and essays on the men and their work by John H. Talbott
Call Number: R34.T18
New York: Grunne and Stratton, 1970.
The Nobel Prize winners. Physiology or medicine by Frank N. Magill
Call Number: R134.N630 1991
Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, c1991
Biographical dictionary of medicine by Jessica Bendiner and Elmer Bendiner
Call Number: R134.B4550 1990
New York : Facts on File, c1990
Dictionary of American medical biography by Martin Kaufman, Stuart Galishoff, Todd L. Savitt
Call Number: R153.D53
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1984
Medical obituaries : American physicians' biographical notices in selected medical journals before 1907 by Lisabeth M. Holloway
Call Number: R153.H640
American medical biography; or, Memoirs of eminent physicians who have flourished in America, to which is prefixed a succinct history of medical science in the United States from the first settlement of the country. by Thacher, James
Call Number: R153.T36 1967
New York, Milford House, 1967.
Available online from HathiTrust
Directory of deceased American physicians, 1804-1929 : a genealogical guide to over 149,000 medical practitioners providing brief biographical sketches drawn from the American Medical Association's Deceased Physician Masterfile by Arthur W. Hafner
Call Number: R712.A1D470 1993
Chicago : American Medical Association, c1993
The Illinois medical blue book and Chicago medical directory.
Call Number: R712.A2I3I3. 1897/1898
Chicago medical directory.
Call Number: R712.C4C4
Biographisch-literarisches Handworterbuch der exakten Naturwissenschaften by Poggendorff, J. C.
Call Number: Z7403.P74 1994
An excellent resource if you can read German
A select bibliography of medical biography: with an introductory essay on medical biography by John L. Thornton
Call Number: Z6658.T505 1970
A bibliography of medical and biomedical biography by Leslie T. Morton and Robert J. Moore
Call Number: Z6660.5.M670 1994
Aldershot, Hants, England : Scholar Press ; Brookfield, VT : Ashgate Pub. Co., c1994
Index to Scientists of the World from Ancient to Modern Times: Biographies and Portraits
Call Number: Z7404.I65
This is only an index. You will need to track down the original source once you get the reference.

Contact Information

Andrea Twiss-Brooks
Director, Humanities and Area Studies
Chemistry and Geophysical Sciences Librarian
Send Email