This is the "Home" page of the "Cinema and Media Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cinema and Media Studies  

Last Updated: Mar 20, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/cinema Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Starting Points

For background and quick look up.

  • Film Indexes Online
    Search the catalogs of the American Film Institute (1893-1970) and British Film Institute (1930s-present) simultaneously or separately. Most records include plot summaries and references to articles and contemporary reviews.
  • Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory  
      
    One of the standard reference works in the field, this guide offers articles on theorists such as Walter Benjamin and Michel Foucault. Entries on Film Theory, Cultural Studies and Feminist Theory provide useful overviews.
  • Dictionary of Film Terms (2006)
    In print.
 

About the Collection

The collection covers the history and development of world cinema from the silent era to the present with an emphasis on the United States and the major European, Russian, Latin American, East Asian and South Asian cinemas. Holdings in the history of film, film criticism, and film theory are particularly strong.

See the Collection Development Policy Statement for more details.

    Subject Specialist

    Profile Image
    Nancy Spiegel
    Contact Info
    Bibliographer for Art and Cinema
    Bibliographer for History
    Regenstein Library Room 463
    773-702-5193
    Send Email
     

    © The University of Chicago Library
    1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip