This library research guide provides an introduction to Korean Studies related resources for library users at the University of Chicago. It gives access to online full text sources and location information on print, visual and audio materials inside the library for research in Korean Studies.
The guide will specifically assist you to:
Image Description: Seoul Lantern Festival
The Korean collection at the University of Chicago began in 1988, and has significantly developed over the past 30 years. The Collection covers all subjects in Korean Studies generally, but is especially focused on Korean History and Literature because these areas are the most researched by the faculty and graduate students. The Collection is especially committed to the following areas: the Korean War, the division of the Korean peninsula, North Korea, Korean literature and movies, Korean colonialism and women. The University of Chicago library joined the Korea Foundation’s Korean Collections Consortium of North America (KCCNA) in 1995 enabling us to build up holdings concerning welfare, industry, environment, politics, novels written in classical Chinese, Korean-Chinese, and Koreans living in Chicago. The Korean collection is located on the 5th floor of the Joseph Regenstein Library with the Chinese and Japanese collections.
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs.
Use this form to submit a request.
It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.