General
- Asian Legal Information InstituteLegal database that encompasses 28 Asian nations.
China
- Internet Chinese Legal Research CenterDeals with mainland China, Taiwan and Hong Kong.
- Chinese Legal Research at the University of WashingtonPrepared by William B. McCloy at the University of Washington Law Library. Mix of hard-copy and internet resources.
India
- Manupatra This link opens in a new window
- Legal Information Institute of IndiaFree web site with case law from the Supreme Court of India and the state high courts, and national and state legislation.
- Indian KanoonFree search engine for Indian case law.
- AdvocateKhoj Law LibraryLegal forms, explanations of the law, Supreme Court of India judgments, Parliament of India acts and rules, and a glossary of legal terms, courtesy of AdvocateKhoj, an innovative online lawyer referral service.
- Laws of IndiaA site whose focus is on legislation at the state, rather than national, level. A work in progress, but as of June 2010, there has been significant work done.
- PRS Legislative ResearchA New Delhi-based think tank dedicated to independent research on legislative and policy issues in the Indian parliament.
- Ministry of Law and JusticeUmbrella Ministry that contains, among others, the Department of Justice. Provides access to case law and legislation.
Japan
- Stanford JGuide - Law and RegulationA basic resource that has a number of links to more specialised sites.
- Columbia Law School - Links to sources of Japanese lawLinks to a variety of sources, some in Japanese.
- Japanese Legal Research at the University of WashingtonPrepared by Rob Britt, Japanese legal materials specialist at the University of Washington School of Law library. Mix of hard-copy materials and internet resources.
Republic of Korea (South Korea)
- Republic of Korea (Foreign Law Guide)Comprehensive annotated guide to legal system and materials. University of Chicago login necessary.
- South Korean Law Research on the Internet (GlobaLex)Written by Hyeon-Cheol Kim and Inyoung Cho, who are South Korean judges. Succinct, but rather useful.
- Statutes of the Republic of KoreaGovernment database of Republic of Korea Statutes. Fully searchable and browseable.
- Korean Legal Research at the University of WashingtonPrepared by William B. McCloy at the University of Washington Law Library. Mix of hard-copy and online materials.
- A Research Guide and a bibliography for Korean Legal Resources in English (GlobaLex)Written by the wonderfully nicknamed Jootaek (Juice) Lee, a librarian and professor at the University of Miami Law School. Very current - published in May 2010.
Sri Lanka
- Sri Lanka: Legal Research and Legal System (GlobaLex)Written by Aquinas V. Tambimuttu. Published in January 2009, and covers the basics. Has a few links.
- Sri Lanka (Foreign Law Guide)Excellent overview. University of Chicago login needed.
- Official Website of the Government of Sri LankaIn English, Sinhalese and Tamil. Main government web portal, with news, links to branches of government, and links to the Constitution.
- Sri Lankan Ministry of DefenceIn English, Sinhalese, Tamil, and German. Includes links to the text of the Acts of the Army, Navy and Air Force, respectively.
Thailand
- Introduction to the Legal System and Legal Research in the Kingdom of Thailand (GlobaLex)Written by Joe Leeds, an American lawyer in Bangkok. Decent basic overview of the Thai legal system, although links are a bit scarce.
- Thailand (Foreign Law Guide)Excellent overview of legal materials, if a bit thin in explanation.
- Thai LawsIn English and Thai. A non-official site with translations of a wide body of Thai law into English.
Subject Specialist
Lyonette Louis-Jacques
Contact:
Foreign and International Law
Librarian and Lecturer in Law
D'Angelo Law Library
University of Chicago Law School
Librarian and Lecturer in Law
D'Angelo Law Library
University of Chicago Law School
773-702-9612