Choose "Cited Reference Search" instead of "Basic Search." Select "More Settings" to deselect Chemical Indexes or Citation Indexes that are not relevant. Web of ScienceTM Core Collection (1900-present) covers scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Navigate with cited reference searching and Author Finder
Create a visual representation of citation relationships with Citation Mapping
Capture citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report
Use the Analyze Tool to identify trends and patterns
Backfiles available to 1900
Library subscription includes:
Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present)
Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)
Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)
(Includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)
Index Chemicus (1996-present)
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
Select document(s) and then "View citation overview" or "View cited by." Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with records from over 20,000 sources for research in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields. Includes some arts and humanities content. Library subscription.
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 15,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.
Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
Directory of currently published journals, as well as discontinued publications. Includes information about which databases index the content. Library subscription.
Listings of currently published journals, newsletters, and annuals, as well as discontinued publications. Indicates whether periodicals are online. Includes information about which databases index the content.
Many dissertations will include a review of the relevant literature.
Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.
Search the eJournals database for titles of individual journals. (Or use the Library Catalog, which contains records for both print and online journals.) The following journal collections are good places to begin searching or browsing.
Multidisciplinary indexing and abstracting service covering journals of general interest as well as scholarly publications. Includes extensive full text. Click on "Publications" for information on the coverage of specific journal titles or to browse publications by title or by subject & description. (African is included in the subject & description of many more publications than Africa.) Library subscription.
This database includes full text for over 4,500 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. Full text coverage is especially strong in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, and theology. In addition there are over 8,200 abstracted and indexed journals, over 7,000 of which are peer-reviewed.
More recent issues of scholarly journals, including several African Studies titles. Library subscription.
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the world wide web. In 1999, MUSE published online 46 JHUP titles in the humanities, social sciences.
Bibliographies and Indexes Focused on Africa
Use these resources and others to identify material on your topic. Depending upon the nature of your research, you may want to use an index with a subject-specific focus. General interest/multidisciplinary indexes provide broad coverage and are useful as well.
Provides access to Africa Bibliography, 2005- . an annual guide to African studies publications, mainly in social sciences, environmental sciences, arts and humanities. Lists some natural sciences material. Published under the auspices of the International African Institute since 1984. Print annual available 1984- . Library subscription.
Provides access to the Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database, the African Women's Database, and additional material. Founded by Davis Bullwinkile at the University of Arkansas-Little Rock and continued by the African Studies Centre (ASC) in Leiden.
Provides access to the Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database, the African Women's Database, and additional material. Compiled by Davis Bullwinkile at the University of Arkansas-Little Rock.
International index to African health literature and information sources provided by the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with technical support from the World Health Organization.
Printed index with supplements covers material in the social sciences and material on African life and culture. Includes some articles from the 19th century and a literary index of about 3,000 African literary works.