WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.
Zentraler Online-Katalog des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts. ZENON indexes books and articles based on the subject catalogues of the offices of the German Archaeological Institute. Guide to Zenon DAI is available from the Clark Art Institute.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship.
From their website
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.
The Electronic Journals Database provides access to the majority of the electronic journal titles available through the University of Chicago Library. Browse by journal title or conduct a title keyword or ISSN search.
Comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world. Our board of experienced and internationally diverse editors has collected over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world.
From their Website
The entire text of Metzler's Der neue Pauly, which was published in 18 volumes (13 on Antiquity, 5 on the Classical Tradition) and one index volume, is available here together with all volumes of Brill's New Pauly now in print, with regular updates when new translations become available. Advanced search functions, complimented by keyword and subject indices, enable the user to search and combine data efficiently from a vast corpus of over 27,000 entries and sub-entries. The guiding principle in developing the online version of the New Pauly was to supply its users with exactly the same information the book itself would provide, while improving their ability to search and, consequently, use the information.
For almost half a century, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. It provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity. (Description from Oxford website.)
Logeion was developed to provide simultaneous lookup of entries in many Greek and Latin dictionaries. Dictionaries include the Perseus Classical collection (Liddell and Scott's Greek-English Lexicon (1940); Liddell and Scott's Intermediate Greek Lexicon (1889); Autenrieth's Homeric Dictionary (1891); Lewis and Short's Latin-English Lexicon (1879); Lewis's Elementary Latin Dictionary (1890)) as well as The Diccionario Griego-Español Project, Du Cange, et al., Glossarium mediæ et infimæ latinitatis (1883-1887), Basiswoordenlijst Latijn (1975), and Pinkster’s Woordenboek Latijn/Nederlands (2011).
Database contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council. Covers all the works from the classical period up to the 2nd century C.E./A.D; the most important patristic works starting around 200 C.E./A.D. with Tertullian, ending with the death of Venerable Bede in 735; a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas - texts taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions; and, Neo-Latin literature (1501-1962) including decrees from the modern ecumenical Church councils up to Vatican II, and translations into Latin of important sixteenth-century works.
The Papyrological Navigator currently retrieves and displays information from the Advanced Papyrological Information System (APIS), the Duke Databank of Documentary Papyri (DDbDP) and the Heidelberger Gesamtverzeichnis (HGV).
Information on transport amphoras (plain clay jars, unglazed) including amphora bibliography, amphoras in Greek literature, translations of Russian publications, published data on amphora finds, and amphoras in archaeological web sites.
Our goal is to build a digital encyclopedia of classical Athenian democracy that will be useful to a wide audience. We hope to describe the history, institutions, and people of democratic Athens in the 5th and 4th centuries BCE, to publish the efforts of scholars to answer questions about Athenian democracy, and to invite you, our audience, to explore, discover, and judge for yourselves. (From the Demos website)
Pleiades gives scholars, students, and enthusiasts worldwide the ability to use, create, and share historical geographic information about the Greek and Roman World in digital form.
Springing from the Classical Atlas Project and the Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World, Pleiades is a historical gazetteer and more. It associates names and locations in time and provides structured information about the quality and provenance of these entities. There is also a graph in Pleiades: names and locations are collected within places and these collections are associated with other geographically connected places. Pleiades also serves as a vocabulary for talking about the geography of the ancient world within Linked Data sets and is referenced by research projects such as Google Ancient Places and PELAGIOS.
From their Website
The first data-set (Places) contains information about classical Greek poleis, gleaned mostly from M.H. Hansen/T. Nielsen Inventory of Archaic and Classical Poleis (Oxford 2005). The Inventory was the culminating project of the Copenhagen Polis Center: it presents, in narrative form, and summarizes in Indexes, information on 1035 communities designated by the editors as Greek city-states from the period ca. 800-323 BCE. The second data-set (People) contains information about prominent Greek and Roman individuals: where they were born, what they are known for having done, and where they lived in the course of their lives. The information was taken from Oxford Classical Dictionary (3rd Edition). Information about how the data is organized is accessed through the Place Data and People Data tabs on the home page.
From their website
The Internet portal provides subject information across the entire spectrum of Classical Studies. A separate selection is offered for each of the following disciplines: Egyptology, Ancient History, Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Byzantine Studies, Classical Archaeology, Classical Philology, Medieval and Neo-Latin Philology and Pre- and Early History.
From their Web site.
Contains interactive sources and studies on Ancient Greece, including Greek texts and English translations, and over 4,000 vase, sculpture and coin images from museum collections. Pereus 2.0 on CD-ROM is available in in the 4th Floor Digital Media Collection at CDROMDF77.P477 1996.
Pinakes lists the manuscripts of Greek works written prior to A.D. 1600, for the most part recorded in printed catalogues of manuscripts.
The records focus on the content of each manuscript (authors and works). Dates are given according to catalogues. Basic codicological and paleographical
information is provided only insofar as it is related to the texts.
Trismegistos [TM] is a platform aiming to surmount barriers of language and discipline in the study of late period Egypt and the Nile valley (roughly BC 800 - 800 AD). It brings together a variety of projects dealing with metadata, mainly of published documents. Text Collections
To subscribe send a blank email to firstname.lastname@example.org, and write (as subject and in first
line): subscribe agade
Jack M. Sasson, the Mary Jane Werthan Professor of Judaic and Biblical Studies at Vanderbilt University, has been collecting and distributing the Agade Mailing List for almost two decades, dating back to his position at The University of North Carolina, which still hosts the email distribution list. The Agade list forwards news and information of interest to scholars in biblical studies, Near Eastern studies, Late Antiquity, Judaica, Classics, archaeology, and even broad intellectual history. It is a valuable source of announcements, and these many guilds are in debt to Professor Sasson.
The Society of Biblical Literature has permission to collect these postings and to archive them. The Current Postings include announcements from the previous day. The Archive includes all prior announcements and will eventually date back to 2010. SBL does not supplement, eliminate, or otherwise emend the number or content of the announcements, and presents them in the order of their delivery.
From their website
The Digital Classicist is a decentralised and international community of scholars and students interested in the application of innovative digital methods and technologies to research on the ancient world. The Digital Classicist is not core funded, and nor is it owned by any institution. The main purpose of this site is to offer a web-based hub for discussion, collaboration and communication.
From their Website
The Forum for Classics, Libraries, and Scholarly Communication (FCLSC) — also known as the Classics Librarians’ Forum — brings together librarians and researchers interested in classical studies, in order to promote timely exchange of information and ideas. Members also collaborate on projects of mutual concern.
Digital Resources for Religion in Late Antiquity
This blog is about the rich and bewildering variety of online resources for the even richer and more bewildering variety of religions in Late Antiquity. Hieroi Logoi, or “Sacred Discourses,”
were tales of great ritual and mythological importance, both written and unwritten, from the Graeco-Roman world (the Mediterranean and its satellite regions); Jews and Christians sometimes used this term to describe their own scriptures. Hieroi Logoi were frequently intended for a restricted community, but they also excited great interest outside the boundaries of their intended audience.
The purpose of this blog is to discover and review all websites relevant to the study of the religions of Late Antiquity, here understood broadly as the period between Alexander the Great (3rd century BCE) and Muhammad (6th-7th century CE). My goal is gradually to create a centralized information portal on this subject, extensively categorized and tagged, for scholarly research and teaching, as well as the interested public. Some of these sites are well known, others obscure; some straightforward to use, others difficult; some are well-funded collaborative efforts, others are more informal.
From their Website
Inscriptiones-l (a.k.a.the Epigraphy list) is a scholarly discussion forum for those people with a professional interest in Greek and Latin epigraphy. Although the official language of the list is English, posts in any of the languages which scholars in this field should be aware of (e.g. French, German, Italian, Spanish) are also welcome. Of course, a knowledge of Greek and Latin is assumed.