Creating a Special Collections Account and Requesting Materials

Welcome to Special Collections

The Hanna Holborn Gray Special Collections Research Center is home to the University of Chicago Library's rare books, archives, and manuscript collections.  Special Collections is a vibrant, interactive place to conduct research, engage in classes using original sources, and view changing exhibitions.

Please Note: The electronic request system does not work well with the Chrome browser. For best results, please use Firefox or Safari.

University of Chicago Users:

• Sign in using your CNetID and password
• Read the sections: Using the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) Reading Room and Policies Governing the Use of Archives, Manuscripts and Special Collections
• Fill in the Patron Registration Form
• Click the Submit Information button
• You are now set to start submitting requests! Follow the instructions on requesting books and codex manuscripts or archives and modern manuscripts.

Non-University of Chicago Users:

• Click the Login to SCRC button
• Click the First Time Users Click button
• Read the sections: Using the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) Reading Room and Policies Governing the Use of Archives, Manuscripts and Special Collections
•  Fill in the New User Registration Form and create a user name and password
• Click the Submit Information button
• You are now set to start submitting requests! Follow the instructions on requesting books and codex manuscripts or archives and modern manuscripts.

Once you have completed the registration, you can sign into the SCRC online request system from the link above using the Logon to SCRC button on the appropriate side.

Questions or problems? Contact us!

For help with your research:

Visit us on the first floor of Regenstein Library:

1100 East 57th Street, Chicago, IL 60637.

Phone: 773-702-8705

Contact Form

Class Request Form