Welcome to the Scholarship & Discovery Library Course Guide for Pritzker Students & Mentors. Web and library resources are compiled to help you complete your scholarly work. Our home page lists general resources; track-specific resources are on each tab.
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 15,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.
Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
The Collaborative Institutional Training Initiative (CITI) developed and hosts a web-based training program in human research subjects protections.
Responsible Conduct of Research by Adil E. Shamoo; David B. ResnikSince the early 2000s, the field of Responsible Conduct of Research has become widely recognized as essential to scientific education, investigation, and training. At present, research institutions with public funding are expected to have some minimal training and education in RCR for their graduate students, fellows and trainees. These institutions also are expected to have a system in place for investigating and reporting misconduct in research or violations of regulations in research with human subjects, or in their applications to federal agencies for funding. Public scrutiny of the conduct of scientific researchers remains high. Media reports of misconduct scandals, biased research, violations of human research ethics rules, and moral controversies in research occur on a weekly basis. Since the 2009 publication of the 2nd edition of Shamoo and Resnik's Responsible Conduct of Research, there has been a vast expansion in the information, knowledge, methods, and diagnosis of problems related to RCR and the multitude of ethical issues of human subject protections. With the climate surrounding research conduct always shifting, developments in the field make an updated edition a necessity. All chapters have been revised and reflect the most current RCR landscape. New or further-developed topics include social responsibility and misconduct in social sciences, climate-change research, authorship, and peer review. Updates include new information on research involving human subjects or "vulnerable" biological subjects, as well as genetic research. Just like in previous editions, all chapters contain recent case studies and legal examples of various subjects.
Publication Date: 2015-01-02
Clinical Ethics, 8th Edition by Albert R. Jonsen; Mark Siegler; William J. WinsladeClinical Ethics teaches healthcare providers how to effectively identify, evaluate, and resolve ethical issues in clinical medicine. Using the author acclaimed "Four Box Method" and numerous illustrative case examples, this book enables practitioners to gain a better understanding of the complexities involved in ethical cases and demonstrates how to reach resolution to ethical problems. Clinical Ethics goes beyond theory to offer a decision-making strategy applicable to real-world practice. Readers will learn an easy-to-apply system based on simple questions about medical indications, patient preferences, quality of life, and contextual features that clearly explain clinical ethics and help them formulate a sound diagnosis and treatment strategy. The case examples have been selected to demonstrate how principles apply to real-world everyday practice. The co-authors, a bioethicist, a physician and a lawyer/ psychoanalyst /philosopher, draw on more than forty years respectively of clinical experience to select exemplary cases of ethical problems and to reflect on how moral principles and concepts can guide clinicians in formulating ethically appropriate recommendations for patient care. A unique chapter organization: Each chapter of the book begins with some general considerations about the topic, and the ethical principle relevant to that topic. The clinical situations that generate ethical problems are then described and illustrated by clinically realistic medical cases. A short distillation of current opinion from the bioethical literature is provided, followed by an analysis of the cases. The authors conclude with recommendations that the three authors have formulated from their extensive experience as bioethics consultants.
The Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools - Expenditures and Results (RePORTER) is an electronic tool that allows users to search a repository of NIH-funded research projects and access publications and patents resulting from NIH funding.
Contents include clinical trials, experimental treatments, experimental and new diagnostic procedures, patient enrollment, patient accrual, patient recruitment, and all study phases. Information is provided about a trial’s purpose, who may participate, locations, and contact information.
Dr. Vineet Arora
Assistant Dean for Scholarship and Discovery,Pritzker School of Medicine
Director of Library Research in Medical Education