Library Guides: Industry Guide: Real Estate: Research Reports and Articles

Research Reports

Many commercial real estate firms make current reports available for free on their websites. Most do not offer online archives of their reports.

CB Richard Ellis
Global reports from a large commercial real estate firm. These are freely available. Local market reports are not. Registration required.
Colliers International
Broadest international coverage.
Cushman & Wakefield
Free reports with global coverage.
Marcus & Millichap
Free, but registration is required. Covers retail, apartment and commercial markets.
Newmark
Free reports that focus on market trends.
PGIM Real Estate
Broad international reports.
Savills Studley
Free reports on US and International markets

S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Their Homebuilding Industry Survey covers some aspects of real estate
Features S & P's Industry Surveys, which provide macro-level analysis of 56 major industries. Also includes company profiles and financial data with analyst rankings of investment potential as well information about company executives.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Best for broad level reports
Statista collects data from a broad range of government and commercial sources. Data can be downloaded in Excel or pre-formatted for PowerPoint. Statista also includes reports from market research companies.

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Replaces ABI/Inform Complete.
Contains business-focused content from a variety of sources including newspapers, dissertations, ebooks, video, business cases, industry reports and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Article database that includes trade publications, academic journals, industry profiles, country information and company profiles, which include SWOT analyses. Full text is often available. Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Best for empirical studies.
EconLit indexes articles from economics journals, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. It is a very good source for empirical studies on economics and finance.
Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Best for trade journals and local and regional business news.
Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Content is available in many different languages, including Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Stock data and indices are available for 5 years.

Use the Find It! button to access these journals online.