Library Guides: Industry Guide: Real Estate: Data and Statistics

Home Sales & Values

Chicago Region Housing Market Indicators
Compiled by the institute for Housing Studies at DePaul
Housing Statistics from the National Association of Realtors
Compiled by the National Association of Realtors. Only recent data are free.
Freddie Mac House Price Index (FMHPISM)
Zillow Data
Extensive data series compiled from a variety of sources.
House Price Index
from the Federal Housing Finance Agency
New Home Sales
Compiled by the US Census Bureau.
S&P/Case-Shiller Home Price Indices
Frequently cited index of US housing prices.
Blockshopper
Aggregates sales and property tax information, with some details on individual home sales. Use the state links at the bottom of the page to browse geographies.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides decennial census data on "house values" by price ranges (sometimes down to the zip code, census tract, and block level). These are usually self-reported, so may not be suitable for all research projects.
Social Explorer is a detailed reference tool for current and historical Census data from 1790 to the present. Data may be generated by browsing maps or building reports.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista collects data from a broad range of government and commercial sources. Data can be downloaded in Excel or pre-formatted for PowerPoint. Statista also includes reports from market research companies.

Core Logic data are available through the Research Computing Center. Visit the Fama-Miller Center's data page for more information on access.

Fama-Miller Center for Research in Finance
& more less...
The Fama-Miller Center was founded to promote and enhance academic research in finance at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business. We build on a deep and distinguished tradition represented by the seminal contributions and intellectual and personal leadership provided by Gene Fama and Merton Miller. The center's mission is to maintain and advance this legacy.

Foreclosures

Foreclosure data are primarily available in aggregate from a variety of government sources. Statista is good for general trends.

Data on individual foreclosures is not available through Library sources. ATTOM is the largest provider, Statista frequently cites their aggregate statistics.

National Mortgage Database Aggregate Statistics
From the Federal Housing Finance Agency. Summary statistics are on the web site, detailed files can be downloaded but are quite large.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista collects data from a broad range of government and commercial sources. Data can be downloaded in Excel or pre-formatted for PowerPoint. Statista also includes reports from market research companies.

Mortgage Data

Federal Housing Finance Agency
A wealth of statistics on the size of the market and types of mortgages. Includes many different time series.
Historical Mortgage Rates
Compiled by HSH Associates. Monthly data from 1983 and weekly from 1986.
Mortgage Market Statistical Annual
Print reference work, latest edition in Regenstein Reference, call number HG4655.M64

This has statistics collected by Inside Mortgage Finance and covers primary and secondary markets. Many series have 20 years of data
Mortgages Outstanding and Originated, 1990 -
Home price index and aggregate mortgage data.
Weekly Primary Mortgage Market Survey
Weekly mortgage rates from Freddie Mac. Includes historical data going as far back as 1971

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista collects data from a broad range of government and commercial sources. Data can be downloaded in Excel or pre-formatted for PowerPoint. Statista also includes reports from market research companies.

Microdata

The Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) of 1975 requires mortgage lenders to provice data on applicants and loans.
Data for 1999 - 2007 are available from the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC)
The Library has the following data on CD-ROM

Data from 2007 to the present are available from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

CFPB HMDA data