Library Guides: Model UN Library Resources: Home

Quick Links

United Nations LibGuide
Where to find official UN documents.
Country Information LibGuide
Where to find information on a specific country (beyond the CIA World Factbook)
Ask a Librarian
Got a question? Want to set up a research appointment? Ask a Librarian!
International Studies LibGuide
Research Guide for IS majors (with lots of Model UN-relevant information)
Foreign, Comparative, and International Law LibGuide

Getting Started

How to Write a Background Guide -- from ChoMUN (via bestdelegate.com)

UN Global Issues -- what the UN is saying about your topic.

Books

cover of Introduction to the Model United Nations

Introduction to the Model United Nations, 1992

Finding Books:

Library Catalog - Searches books (and e-books) owned by the University of Chicago Library. Start here for finding books.
Worldcat - Searches the book catalogs of major university libraries in the United States, Canada, and beyond.
HathiTrust - Digitzed books from the collections of major universities libraries. Mostly older material (pre-1923), but also includes government documents.
Google Books - Books digitized by Google and/or contributed by publishers. Usually NOT full-text, but searchable and with "previews."

Book checked out? Not owned by the U of C Library? No problem!

If the book you want is checked out, or is a title we don't own (yes, we don't own every single book), then borrow it from another library for free!

Borrow Direct - Ivy League, MIT, and Chicago expedited interlibrary loan
UBorrow - CIC (Big Ten) schools, including Chicago, expedited interlibrary loan
Interlibrary Loan - regular interlibrary loan between virtually any library in the United States (and many worldwide).

If you see the FindIt! button, you can access Borrow Direct, UBorrow, and Interlibrary Loan with a few clicks.

Online Magazines

Foreign Affairs
The Economist through ProQuest
& more less...
Access current issues through ProQuest
Financial Times
Available from ProQuest, Access World News and Nexis Uni with a 30 day delay from the date of publication.
Chicago Booth students have access to FT.com through Booth Career Services
Foreign Policy

Factiva This link opens in a new window
1000s of (current) news sources from many different countries.
Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Content is available in many different languages, including Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Stock data and indices are available for 5 years.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News and legal sources.
A full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, news wires, news transcripts, business, and legal information. Dates of coverage vary by title.

New York Times CURRENT
1980-current, via ProQuest. Full text, but no page images.
New York Times HISTORICAL
New York Times 1857-2010, with page images. Need to see what the front page looked like back in 1957? Start here!

Journal Articles

page 1 of journal article about model un and humor

Scholarly research on Model UN conferences – it exists.

Finding scholarly journal articles:

Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Cross-searching many (though not all) Library databases. Use FindIt! buttons to get full-text.
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large basket of journals, all full-text. BUT: beware the "moving wall" -- JSTOR titles often run 3-5 years behind due to agreements with publishers.
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's subset of scholarly websites. (Note that Google's definition of "scholarly" is quite broad.)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1 of 2 core journal databases for political science. Covers political science, law, international relations, and public policy.
Covers the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Core international relations database. Provides selective subject and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.
Provides selective subject and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
1 of 2 core databases for political science. Complements Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- search both to get a comprehensive look at the journal literature.
Provides full text for over 400 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals, US and foreign. The database also features more than 165 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers.

Statistical Data

Finding data and statistics:

International Statistical Agencies
Scroll down to see the list of statistical agencies compiled by the US Census Bureau.

World Development Indicators Online This link opens in a new window
Data collected and published by the World Bank.
Includes the World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance databases. Contains over 500 timeseries indicators under the headings: world view, environment, economy, states and markets and global links. Data are at the country level only and are updated annually. Includes the World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance databases.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Formerly SourceOECD. The online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. SourceOECD includes books and reports, journals and the OECD statistical databases.

Librarian

Rebecca Starkey

she / her - FLI Ally

Send Email

Contact:

Director of Teaching and Academic Engagement
Regenstein Library, Room 363

Subject Areas: Education, Library Science

773-702-4484

Subjects: Education, Library Science, Social Sciences