Profiles
- Almanac of the Federal Judiciary This link opens in a new windowThe Almanac of the Federal Judiciary provides biographic profiles and financial disclosure information for every federal judge, including those sitting on the US Supreme Court, Appellate Courts, District Courts, Bankruptcy Courts, and Specialized Courts. Through Courtroom Insight, the Almanac also provides access to additional information about the judges including reviews by attorneys who have practiced in front of the judge and the judge's rulings on legal challenges to expert witnesses.
- American Bench This link opens in a new windowDirectory with biographical information for judges in all levels of federal, state and local courts. Click "more" for additional information.
- Ballotpedia - Courts and Judges by StateAn online encyclopedia covering the courts and judges of each state. Judicial profiles often include information about the judge's education, career, and notable rulings.
- Bloomberg Law Judge ProfilesLearn more about a particular Judge, including his or her career history, related news, and case load.
- CourtListener - Advanced Judge SearchDatabase including biographical information on nearly 8,500 federal and state judges, including full name, race, gender, birth and death dates and locations; educational information; judicial positions they have held, including how they were nominated or elected, what the voting outcome was, who appointed them, and the clerks they supervised; non-judicial positions they have held, including work in other branches of government, in private practice, and in academia; and any ratings that a judge has been given by the American Bar Association.
Judicial Clerkship Guides
- Bloomberg Law - Judicial Clerkship Resources PortalA collection of Bloomberg Law resource related to judicial clerkships.
A Short and Happy Guide to Judicial Clerkships by ISBN: 1685610625Publication Date: 2023-01-26Let's face it--there are many aspects of law school that resemble the secret menu at a restaurant. If no one lets your students in on the secrets of law school, they might miss out on career-building opportunities. Judicial clerkships certainly fall into this category. And, at many law schools, only the ultra-competitive federal appellate clerkships receive much promotion. But students should also know that there are a vast array of federal, state, administrative, Tribal, and international clerkship opportunities out there. This book will walk your students through the secret menu of judicial clerkships. Capitalizing on her nearly two decades of working with judges, Professor Dysart has written this Guide to delve into the details of judicial clerkships including: what are clerkships and what different types of clerkships are available. The Guide then outlines the benefits of clerking and refutes common arguments against clerking. It provides detailed advice on determining which judges to apply to, how to research judges, how to compile effective clerkship applications, and how to interview for clerkships. The Guide concludes with information on making the most of the clerkship year and ethical considerations for clerks. While the book is specifically geared toward future and current law students, it also offers advice for recent graduates seeking clerkships, career services offices, and professors who write letters of recommendations and advise students on clerkships.
Behind the Bench by ISBN: 9781636593593Publication Date: 2023-02-01Author Debra M. Strauss, J.D. explains all aspects of clerkships in this newly revised edition. The book provides updated information and resources as your go-to source on judicial clerkships, focusing on what clerkships are, what kind of work clerks do, why you should apply, how to find and apply for the type of clerkship that would be right for you, how to give a strong interview, and why clerkships give you stellar credentials that prospective employers will actively seek out. Behind the Bench: The Guide to Judicial Clerkships, Third Edition is filled with nuts and bolts advice on all elements of the application process, including building a successful application, interviewing, etiquette of offers and acceptances, and special strategies designed to help you in your quest for the perfect clerkship. To further lay the groundwork for a positive experience, this title also features an exclusive section on how to prepare for your clerkship. The third edition adds current developments such as remote interviews and the virtual clerkship experience; recent data on women and minorities in clerkships; new Supreme Court feeder judges along with statistical analysis on the trends; and extra resources for further reading. As an entrée into the world of the courts, this is an indispensable handbook for every law student, lawyer, judge, and potential judicial clerk! A must-have resource for colleges, law schools, courthouses, and legal organizations!
Of Courtiers and Princes: stories of lower court clerks and their judges by ISBN: 9780813944609Publication Date: 2021-02-02A collection of experiences from former trial and appellate court clerks.
