Vendor Resources
Getting Started
This guide is intended to supplement the many helpful resources provided by the Law School's Office of Career Services. A key resource for researching legal employers is Law.com Compass, whose resources are detailed below. Also, in addition to providing an array of primary and secondary legal sources, Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis, and Westlaw are excellent tools for researching legal employers. The rest of the guide lists legal directories, news sources, and other resources that should be helpful in researching potential employers.
- Westlaw Profiler This link opens in a new windowDatabase with information about individual attorney and judges. You can search by name and also add additional keywords such as "University of Chicago Law School" to search for alumni. For some individuals, there may be “Profiler References,” with links to briefs, court filings, law journal articles, and so on, written by that attorney or judge.
- Bloomberg Law (BLAW) This link opens in a new windowThe People Search tool includes personal information about attorneys, as well as other individuals involved in business and finance. Since it includes business and financial information, it will include profiles for corporate counsel that may be not included in Westlaw’s Profiler or in Martindale-Hubbell or the Litigation Profile Suite in LexisNexis. You can search by name, age, education, organization, and geographic area. Each individual entry provides all available information about the person, including their career and educational history and links to news stories that mention that person.
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new windowContains the Martindale-Hubbell law directory, as well as the Litigation Profile Suite (accessible through the "Research" tab in Lexis Advance), which allows you to search for individual attorneys or judges. Similar to Westlaw's Profiler, each individual profile includes links to briefs, court filings, news stories, law journal articles, etc., involving that individual.
- ALM Law.com Compass This link opens in a new windowIncludes access to full-text ALM Survey & Ranking reports, including the AmLaw 200 and the ALM Midlevel and Summer Associate Surveys. To access a report, just click on its name. [Please note that reports with a price that is not slashed through are not available via our subscription.] ALM Legal Intelligence also provides the ability to search law firm data and access ready-made Law Firm Reports for 300+ world wide firms. In the Attorney Search tab, you can look for individual attorney profiles by name, firm/organization name, law school, area of practice, job title, and geographic area.
- Law.com This link opens in a new windowLocate news stories about a specific firm or attorney from the American Lawyer, the National Law Journal, the New York Law Journal, the Recorder, and other legal newspapers and magazines from American Lawyer Media.
Legal Directories
- NALP Directory of Legal EmployersParticularly helpful in determining practice group size, diversity of lawyers, number of partners/associates, and information on summer program size and number of offers. Also available via Symplicity.
- Chambers & PartnersChambers publishes guides to the legal professional that evaluate and discuss the firms and attorneys considered leaders in their field.
- Chambers AssociateLaw-student focused website that provides information about law firms, including reviews. Also available via Symplicity.
- MartindaleA legal directory containing information about legal employers and individual attorneys. Also available via LexisNexis.
- Leadership Directories/Yellow BooksIncludes biographical information about federal government employees, law firms, and other organizations. Available via Symplicity.
- Law.com This link opens in a new windowIncludes access to a number of legal directories, including Elite Trial Lawyers, LegalTech Directory, Minority Law Journal, and The American Lawyer Legal Recruiters Directory.
