Library Guides: Entrepreneurship & Innovation: Getting Started

Subject Specialists

Send Email

Contact:

Greg Fleming
Emily Treptow

Regenstein Library Room 360

Subjects: Business, Economics

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Downloadable U.S. Census data files and maps. Contains:
- The entire US Census from 1790 to 2010
- The entire American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to most recent
Social Explorer is a detailed reference tool for current and historical Census data from 1790 to the present. Data may be generated by browsing maps or building reports.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application. Create interactive maps, charts, and reports using 200,000+ data variables.
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application. Create interactive maps, charts, and reports using 200,000+ data variables.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Collects data from a broad range of government and commercial sources. Data can be downloaded in Excel or pre-formatted for PowerPoint.
Statista collects data from a broad range of government and commercial sources. Data can be downloaded in Excel or pre-formatted for PowerPoint. Statista also includes reports from market research companies.

Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Data & Statistics
Find more resources in our Data & Statistics guide.

Refinitiv Workspace This link opens in a new window
Contains private equity and venture capital information, including details of deals, IPOs and profiles of funded companies, PE firms, funds, executives, and LP investors
Refinitiv Workspace brings together company information from a variety of sources that are produced by Refinitiv. This includes company financials and filings, mergers and acquisition data and analyst reports.
Capital IQ
Chicago Booth only.
Access is through the Chicago Booth Intranet
Look in the A-Z Career Research Databases section.
Capital IQ is a premier financial database deployed by more than 1,500 leading financial institutions, advisory firms, and corporations.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Reports on over 700 industries in the U.S.
IBISWorld has market research and analysis on over 700 industries.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Macro level surveys of 50+ major industry groups in the U.S.
Features S & P's Industry Surveys, which provide macro-level analysis of 56 major industries. Also includes company profiles and financial data with analyst rankings of investment potential as well information about company executives.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Dossiers on many industries.
Statista collects data from a broad range of government and commercial sources. Data can be downloaded in Excel or pre-formatted for PowerPoint. Statista also includes reports from market research companies.

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
BCC publishes market research reports on materials, technology, life sciences and energy.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Market research and analysis on information technology, with an emphasis on enterprise level decision makers.
Market research and analysis on information technology, with an emphasis on enterprise level decision makers.
The University does not have access to all of Gartner's reports; you may find links to content that is not included in our subscription.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Market research on U.S. consumer markets.
You must create an account to save sections of reports. Only uchicago.edu or chicagobooth.edu will be accepted.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Market research from Euromonitor. Reports on consumer markets around the world. Use the browse reports option to browse by industry or country. We especially recommend the Consumer Lifestyles reports, which give detailed information on consumer demographics in over 70 countries. Passport also contains summary statistics on consumer products in the menu search
Refinitiv Workspace This link opens in a new window
Analyst reports to supplement your market research.
Refinitiv Workspace brings together company information from a variety of sources that are produced by Refinitiv. This includes company financials and filings, mergers and acquisition data and analyst reports.