Library Guides: Immigration: Data and Statistics

Related Guides

The following resources all provide immigration-related statistics, and sometimes downloadable data.

Migration Data Hub
Migration Data Hub is a resource provided by the Migration Policy Institute (MPI), an independent, non-partisan, non-profit think tank located in Washington D.C. The Data Hub includes State Immigration Data Profiles, Unauthorized Immigration Profiles and U.S. Immigration Trends.
US Census Bureau -- Foreign Born
This section of the US Census website provides data on different characteristics of the foreign-born population in the US.
Immigration Statistics Data (Homeland Security)
The Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS) collects and disseminates data and information useful in evaluating the social, economic, environmental, and demographic impact of immigration laws.
Pew Research Center Hispanic Trends
The Pew Research Center’s Hispanic Trends Project makes the datasets from each of its surveys available to researchers free of charge. The data are provided in SPSS format. Immigration is one of the topics covered in the surveys.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Licensed for 5 users at a time.
Social Explorer is a detailed reference tool for current and historical Census data from 1790 to the present. Data may be generated by browsing maps or building reports.

The following databases are worth searching for articles that may have additional data and statistics on immigration.

EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
EconLit indexes articles from economics journals, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. It is a very good source for empirical studies on economics and finance.
Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. Indexes more than 1,725 journals for social sciences disciplines. Provides access to information from 1956 forward. Includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Part of the Web of Science, which also includes the Arts and Humanities and Science Citation Indexes. Allows searching by cited author as well as author, title, and keyword.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research in sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations since 1963 (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals.

Send Email

Contact:

Greg Fleming
Emily Treptow

Regenstein Library Room 360

Subjects: Business, Economics