Library Guides: Immigration: Getting Started

Related Library Guides

How do I find reference sources?
by Ask a Librarian Updated Mar 27, 2024 268 views this year
Legal Reference Sources
by D'Angelo Law Librarians Updated Oct 20, 2022 38 views this year
U.S. Census and Demographic Data
by Elizabeth Foster Updated Dec 6, 2023 191 views this year

Reference Sources

Reference sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, and atlases are tools that can help you delve deeper into the history, politics, policy, ethics, and other facets of immigration. Below is a brief selection of key reference tools to provide background information on immigration studies. For more help finding reference material, ask us!

Online

Encyclopedia of Global Studies
& more less...
The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is the reference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological, and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
& more less...
Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 120 language and subject dictionaries, reference works, and biographical directories in a variety of disciplines published by OUP that can be searched individually or in one cross-searchable database.

In our stacks

Anti-Immigration in the United States by Kathleen R. Arnold (Editor)
Call Number: JV6450 .A67 2011
ISBN: 9780313375217
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
A comprehensive treatment of anti-immigration sentiment exploring debate, policies, ideas, and key groups from historical and contemporary perspectives.
The Making of Modern Immigration by Patrick J. Hayes (Editor)
Call Number: JV6450 .M364 2012
ISBN: 9780313392023
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Illuminates the foundations of the ethnic and socioeconomic makeup of our nation.
Human Rights in the United States by Laura Mars-Proietti (Editor); Rita Cantos Cartwright (Editor)
Call Number: XXKF4747.5 .C37 2011
ISBN: 9781592372904
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Easy to grasp explanations of the basic concepts and laws in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States.

Ask a Librarian

Contact:

Email Us
773-702-4685 (Phone)
773-825-6777 (Text)

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Business, Help Guides, Humanities, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences