History

Distributed by ProQuest and powered by Ancestry.com, delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more. It's a collection of individuals from North America, the UK, Europe, Australia, and more.

ProQuest History Vault's coverage of the Black Freedom Struggle offers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history. This category consists of the NAACP Papers and federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century. The NAACP Papers collection consists of 6 modules. The NAACP Papers collections contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. With a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, the NAACP Papers document the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond.The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century consists of four modules: two modules of Federal Government Records, and two modules of Organizational Records and Personal Papers, offering unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th century fight for freedom. Major collections in these modules include Civil Rights records from the Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, and George H. W. Bush presidencies; the Martin Luther King FBI File and FBI Files on locations of major civil rights demonstrations like Montgomery and Selma, Alabama or St. Augustine, Florida; and the records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), National Association of Colored Women's Clubs (NACWC), Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE)

Transcriptions of 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves, from the Library of Congress.

A collection of materials about the modern men's movement in the United States and throughout the world.

Consists of documents produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Churchills personal correspondence to his official exchanges.

Provides online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond. Page images are digitized; full text of documents can be searched.

Consists of curated and indexed declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.

This collection, curated in association with the National Archives (UK), provides an insight into the political, economic, and military foundations of the post-war international order.

In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.

The HistoryMakers, established in 1999, is a non-profit institution whose purpose is to record, preserve and disseminate the content of video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements. Its aim is to provide a unique scholarly and educational resource for exploring African American history and culture. It is unique among collections of African American heritage because of its large and varied scope, with interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Rather than focus on one particular part of a person’s life or a single subject, such as a career or participation in the civil rights movement, the interviews are life oral histories covering the person’s entire span of memories as well as his or her own family’s oral history.

Interviews were first conducted in 1993, and continue to the present. The archive continues to grow, so that queries saved today may have new results tomorrow based on new interviews added into the archive. Some people in the collection may be interviewed again, so that content for a particular person may grow as well. All of the appropriate metadata for the interviews is shown when you drill down to a particular person or a particular story.

The original Mass Observation research project to study social history was conducted between the late 1930's and the late 1960's. Explore original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features.

The NAACP Papers collections contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. With a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, the NAACP Papers document the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond.

Contains diaries and letters, dating from colonial times to 1950 drawn from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, and 7,000 pages of previously unpublished materials.

Provides full text of committee hearings since 1817, Congressional committee reports since 1990, House and Senate Documents since 1995, selected committee prints since 1995, bills since 1789, and the Congressional Record since 1985.

Annual reports for over 900 companies available from 1844 - 1985, with selected reports from later years. The emphasis is on the largest companies and includes most Fortune 500 companies.

Material from the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History and Yale University Press. The Stalin Digital Archive (SDA) contains primary and secondary source material related to Joseph Stalin's personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs. A majority of these documents are scanned page images and corresponding bibliographic records in Russian created by the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI). The archive also contains full transcriptions of all of the volumes in Yale University Press's acclaimed Annals of Communism (AOC) series."

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.

The collection spans the presidential administrations of Lyndon Baines Johnson, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

More than 30,000 pages of text selected from a wide variety of sources, including some complete works. The full text can be searched by words and phrases, including subject terms, dates, characteristics of authors, etc.

Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946, Field Basic Documentation is a resource for scholars interested in understanding the World War II incarceration of Japanese American citizens and residents. The War Relocation Authority (WRA) was a government agency tasked with rounding up Japanese Americans, incarcerating them into camps, determining their loyalty or disloyalty to the United States, and resettling them into U.S. society. The records provide a portrait of incarceration camp management, the failings of the segregation process, and the mindset of Japanese American incarcerees in the camps. In addition, the collection includes significant material on public relations and military recruitment.

Reproduction of the originals from the Library of Congress. "A sampling of titles include: Rohwer Outpost, Poston Chronicle, Gila News Courier, Tulean Dispatch, Granada Pioneer, Minndoka Irrigator, Topaz Times, Manzanar Free Press, Denson Tribune, and Heart Mountain Sentinel."

Part 1: Far-Right & Left Political Groups in the US, Europe, & Australia in the Twentieth Century provides archival collections covering far-right and radical left political groups. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera.
Part 3: Global Communist and Socialist Movements provides access to primary sources created by a variety of communist, socialist, and Far-Left groups, and figures across the world's capitalist nations, as well as materials generated by anti-communist organizations and individuals. Coverage is primarily early twentieth century and concerns the "birth" or "evolution" of early communism and socialism, and ideologies such as Marxism-Leninism, Maoism, and Trotskyism. The resource provides insight into how communist and socialist groups saw themselves and the world around them during the major political and social events of the twentieth century, such as the Russian Revolution, the rise of the Soviet Union, and the Red Scare.

Primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. It covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.

Contains letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, of immigrants to the United States and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Includes 342 authors and approximately 37,500 pages of material, including some audio material.

A site that enables U.S. immigrants from all nations to share their immigration stories in their own words.