The digitized volumes of the CO5 files from the British National Archives, covering the years 1606 through 1822. The CO5 files consist of correspondence between the British government and the colonies.
Colonial America will make available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period.
Colonial State Papers integrates two sets of files: the CO 1 files from The National Archives, full name: Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies and the Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739.
--Module 1: Settlement, Slavery and Empire, 1624-1832
--Module 2: Colonial Government and Abolition, 1833-1849 (coming Fall 2022)
--Module 3: Economic Change and Indentured Labour,1850-1870 (Fall 2023)
Stretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this extensive resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
Digitized copies of very known monograph published in what is now the United States from 1639 through 1800. Includes books, pamphlets, broadsheets, etc., but not magazines or newspapers. For digitized early American serials, see American Periodicals Series Online.
This incomparable digital collection contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. Digitized from one of the most important collections ever produced on microform, Early American Imprints, Series I is based on Charles Evans renowned American Bibliography and Roger Bristols supplement. Including more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages
A comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted "American Bibliography, 1801-1819" by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. W
A comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted "American Bibliography, 1801-1819" by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. With more than four million pages from over 36,000 items
Accounts describing exploration of North America or interaction between various cultural groups, 1534-1860. Texts may range from chapters or smaller sections of books to the entire corpus of the Jesuit Relations, of which 49 volumes are currently available in full text. The texts can be searched in a variety of ways, with special indexes for features such as date, peoples, flora and fauna, etc.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions specially created for the product.
This is a database of "material representing the historical experience of indigenous peoples as authored by European settler communities, Christian religious organizations, government agencies, and non-indigenous scholars and scientists, as well as indigenous individuals and organizations." --editors
Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story. The collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations.
MoML VI: FCIL is a legal history digital product containing treatises on international law, comparative law, civil and European law, and the history of law since Roman times. These legal treatises were published from 1600-1926 and are in English, French, German, Spanish, and other Western European languages. MoML VI contains classic works on international law by Gentili, Grotius, Vattel and others. It covers Ancient Law, Roman Law, Jewish Law, and Islamic Law. It also includes monographs covering the law of Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, and other foreign jurisdictions
Full-text version of the Goldsmith-Kress microfilm collection, a comprehensive collection of economics and business literature dating from the last half of the 15th century to the early 20th century.
Combines Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration-along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University. The collection presents more than 61,000 books from the period 1460-1850, and 466 pre-1906 serials. The collection focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. The collection includes works by major economists as well as political pamphlets, government publications, proclamations and other ephemera.
Materials about America, 1500-early 1900s. Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents, forming a collection of over 6 million pages from 29,000 works.
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography.
Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents, forming a collection of over 6 million pages from 29,000 works.