Sociology

Provides access to research in sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations since 1963 (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals.

Multidisciplinary coverage of the social sciences. Offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.

CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.

Description (from Database Finder): Covers major journals and books in criminology, reports from governmental and non-governmental agencies. Topics include crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing.

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), U.S. Department of Education. Since 1966, ERIC has indexed journals, research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and publications of organizations. Full-text of older ERIC documents (non-journal material) are often available on microfiche; note the Accession Number beginning with ED in the ERIC record. The ERIC microfiche is located on the Regenstein B-level.

Indexes worldwide informationfrom analyses of political, economic, and social issues to Latin American arts and letterson Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the United States.

Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

(Description taken from EBSCO website.)

Resource covering literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Coverage includes traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as books, bibliographies and dissertations. This resource is funded by the Illinois State Library.

Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. Indexes more than 1,725 journals for social sciences disciplines. Provides access to information from 1956 forward. Includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Part of the Web of Science, which also includes the Arts and Humanities and Science Citation Indexes. Allows searching by cited author as well as author, title, and keyword.

Bibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. PsycINFO covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.

Provides selective subject and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.

Provides full text for over 400 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals, US and foreign. The database also features more than 165 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers.

Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 51,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

Women’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.

Covers the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.