Library Guides: HIST 29613: Colloquium: Hyde Park and Chicago's South Side as Historical Laboratory: Chicago Newspapers

Chicago Newspapers on Microfilm

Preliminary comprehensive city plan of Chicago, 1946.

Chicago Daily Journal
(Other Title: Daily Chicago Journal)
microfm AN14.C4C4
1853-1861

Chicago Daily News
microfm AN2 22.3
1875-1978

Chicago Defender (Weekend Ed.)
microfm AN2 22.6
1909-2011

Chicago Defender (Daily Ed.)
microfm AN2 22.5
1956-2007

Chicago Evening Journal
microfm AN14.C4C4
1861-1871

Chicago Journal
microfm AN14.C4C6
1979-1983

Chicago Record Herald
microfm AN2 22.8
1901-1914

Chicago Sun-Times
(Other titles: Chicago Sun, Chicago Sun and Times)
microfm AN2 22.9
1941-2009

Chicago Times
(Other title: Daily Chicago Times)
microfm AN2 22.93
1856-1895

Chicago Times-Herald
microfm AN2 22.94
1895-1901

Chicago Today
1966-1974
microfm AN2 22.97

Chicago Weekly Journal
(Also Weekly Chicago Journal)
microfm AN14.C4C5
1853, 1845-1850

Citizen
microfm AN14.C4C46
1882-1914, 1917-1923

Crain’s Chicago Business
microfm HF3163.C4C72
1980-

Drover's Journal
microfm AN2 22.2
1882-1968

Gay Life
microfm HQ75.G35
1975-1986

Hyde Park Herald
microfm F548.68.H9H8
1882-2000

Mexico
microfm AN14.C4M49
1925-1930

Nacional
microf AN14.C4M49
1930-1931

Reader
microfm AN14.C4R3
1971-

Vorbote
microfm AN14.C4V67
1917-1924

Windy City Times
microfm HQ75.W56
1985-1999

Chicago Newspapers Online

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-2010) This link opens in a new window
Full text of the historically Black newspaper, which was distributed nationwide. Coverage is 1910-2010

Chicago Examiner
1908-1918
& more less...
A William Randolph Hearst publication.
Chicago Reader
1971-
& more less...
One of Chicago's alternative newspapers.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-2014) This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue, 1849-2011.

Chicago Tribune (1985-)
Recent issues of the Tribune. Does not include pdfs.
Crain's Chicago Business
1986-
Dziennik Zwiazkowy
1908-1917
& more less...
Polish American newspaper.
Hyde Park Herald
1882-
& more less...
Chicago's "oldest community newspaper" serving Hyde Park and Kenwood.

Databases Containing Chicago Newspapers

Use these databases to find articles from Chicago newspapers.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Includes a broad collection of African American newspapers, including 18 published in Chicago, most from the early to mid-20th century.
Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States--those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.--Catalog Record
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window
Contains many of Chicago's leading newspapers in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Provides full text of issues from hundreds of American newspapers published between 1699 and 1922, with near exhaustive coverage for newspapers that began publication before 1820.

Chicago Foreign Press Survey (1861-1938)
Translations of selected news articles appearing in the Chicago area foreign language press from 1861 to 1938.
& more less...
The Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey was published in 1942 by the Chicago Public Library Omnibus Project of the Work Projects Administration of Illinois. From the Newberry Library.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Includes smaller papers for Chicago and surrounding suburbs. Select "Sources - By Region" and "Illinois".
Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Content is available in many different languages, including Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Stock data and indices are available for 5 years.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Use the "location" index to find Chicago papers. The database newspapers published by Hispanic Americans, Native Americans, and immigrant communities in the US.
Provides bibliographic citations and full-text articles appearing in numerous U.S. ethnic minority newspapers, consumer magazines, and some journals. The database focus is on African American, American Indian, Asian American, and U.S. Latino publications, though many other minority groups are also included.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes smaller papers for Chicago and surrounding suburbs.
A full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, news wires, news transcripts, business, and legal information. Dates of coverage vary by title.
ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Includes smaller papers for Chicago and surrounding suburbs.
Full text articles from recent years from over 2500 news sources worldwide. Includes the Chicago Tribune 1985- present, Washington Post 1987 -, the Times (London) 1992- and the New York Times 1980- present
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Select newspaper search, then "Illinois" and "Chicago" to see a list of available newspapers. Use the keyword search then " Illinois" and "Chicago"to search across the papers by topic.
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

Chicago Newspaper Collections

Below are additional resources for identifying Chicago newspapers.

U.S. Newspapers at the University of Chicago Library
This database includes U.S. newspapers held in print or microform by the University of Chicago Library, based on a survey conducted by the Illinois Newspaper Project in 1999. This resource is NOT UPDATED.
Chicago History Museum
The Chicago History Museum's Research Center has an extensive collection of Chicago and suburban newspapers. The Museum also maintains a newspaper clipping file.
Chicago Public Library
The Chicago Public Library has one of the largest collections of Chicago and suburban newspapers in the Chicago area. Along with the microfilm collections, Municipal Reference Collection holds an extensive clipping file and the Special Collections Department holds some neighborhood newspapers.

Center for Research Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new window
CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. Its shared collections include newspapers (foreign, domestic, and specialized), foreign doctoral dissertations, and other traditional materials. Use Interlibrary Loan to request materials from CRL. CRL is located on the south side of the U of C campus.

Illinois Newspaper Project Database
Search newspaper holdings at libraries around Illinois, compiled by the Illinois Newspaper Project. Includes some holdings for Chicago newspaper.

Misc. Illlinois Newspapers

Newspaper Files. Miscellaneous Illinois Papers

Microfilm of Illinois newspapers, including scattered issues from a wide variety of Chicago papers from the 19th and 20th centuries. Click on the collection for a list of titles.

Subject Guide

Nancy Spiegel

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Bibliographer for Art and Cinema
Bibliographer for History
Regenstein Library Room 463

773-702-5193

Subjects: African-American Studies, Art, Architecture, and Photography, Arts, Cinema and Media Studies, History, Humanities, Medieval and Byzantine Studies, Social Sciences