Archives
- Neighborhood Research CollectionsChicago Public Library, Harold Washington Library.
Collections of printed images and film in area repositories.
- Chicago History MuseumPrint and Photograph Collection includes the entire Chicago Daily News newspaper photo morgue, 1901–1978 (only partially digitized).
- Chicago Film ArchivesProfessional, amateur and home movies by Midwestern filmmakers.
Image Databases
- Carli Digital CollectionsA wealth of Chicago-area content from the member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI).
Digital image collections from the University of Chicago, regional and national repositories.
- Art Institute of Chicago Image CollectionsSelect "images" tab to limit to visual materials.
- University of Chicago Photographic Archive This link opens in a new window
- Photographs from the Chicago Daily News1902-1933; good coverage of ordinary street scenes, neighborhoods.
- Built in America1933-present. Measured drawings, photographs and histories of buildings, neighborhoods and industrial sites throughout the United States--not just in Chicago-- undertaken by the Historic American Buildings Survey and The Historic American Engineering Record, both agencies of the National Park Service.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowIncludes many architectural images and maps of Chicago. Seamless searching of ARTstor and the University's teaching collection by selecting "search all collections."
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-2014) This link opens in a new window
Subject Guide
Nancy Spiegel
she/her
Contact:
Regenstein 413 (not accessible during the renovation-- pls. email for an appointment)