SCRC Book Images
"By the glimmer of the half -extinguished light, I saw the dull yellow eye of the creature open; it breathed hard, and a convulsive motion agitated its limbs, ....I rushed out of the room". p. 43
Inside book cover from 1831 edition of Frankenstein published by Colburn and Bentley.
"If you ain't afraid, go do it then."
Title page image from The Monster and Other Stories by Stephen Crane.
Spooky Special Collections
Dracula by Bram Stoker
Title Page
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
Book Binding
The Werewolf
Story in Second Book of Tales by Eugene Field
Novels
- Frankenstein : or, The modern Prometheus byCall Number: PR5379.S3F8 1818Publication Date: 1818London : Printed for Lackington, Hughes, Harding, Mayor & Jones, 1818. 3 v. in 1 ; 21 cm.
Poetry
- Poems : Simples, Tutto è sciolto, Flood, A flower given to my daughter, Nightpiece byCall Number: PR6019.O95P69 1917Publication Date: 1917
- The raven, and other poems. byCall Number: PS2609.A1 1845Publication Date: 1845First ed., 3d issue: cf. Heartman, Charles F. A bibliography of first printings...of Edgar Allan Poe, p. 70.
Contains nearly all the poetry by Poe up to this time. - The raven : Annabel Lee & The bells. byCall Number: PS2609.A1 1910Publication Date: 1910University of Chicago Library's copy from the Library of Ron Offen.
Monographs
- Second book of tales byCall Number: PS1667.S38 1896aPublication Date: 1896University of Chicago Library's copy bound in three-quarter white vellum and pale blue paper over boards. Issued in publisher's green cloth dust jacket. First edition. Copy no.107 in a limited edition of 150. Illustrated with Eugene Field's coat of arms as frontispiece. Bookplate of Frederick W. Skiff on the paste-down front endpaper.
University of Chicago Library's copy from the Frank J. Piehl Collection of Works by and about Eugene Field. Item #102 in the Piehl Collection Catalogue.
New York : Charles Scribner's Sons, c1896. (The De Vinne Press)
Spiritualism and Mediums
- Spiritualism : its facts and phases, with illustrated experiences byCall Number: BF1261.P69 1864Publication Date: 1864Modern spiritualism (the belief that the spirit world communicates with the living through mediums or psychics) began as a fanatical movement in American in 1848 after two sisters in upstate New York advertised locally that they could converse with the dead.
- A discovery concerning ghosts : with a rap at the "spirit-rappers" byCall Number: BF1471.C92Publication Date: 1863A prolific artists, caricaturist, and illustrator, George Cruikshank began his career by cartooning for satirical political magazines. He became most famous for his illustrations to Charles Dickens' Sketches by Boz and Oliver Twist, but his early satirical tendency is apparent in this 1863 jab at Spiritualists. This is a rare pamphlet for which Cruikshank both produced the illustrations and wrote the text.
- Phenomena of materialisation; a contribution to the investigation of mediumistic teleplastics byCall Number: BF1378.S313 1920Publication Date: 1920Albert von Schrenck-Notzing was a German aristocrat and physician who toured with several famous mediums across Europe, seeking to study their methods thoroughly. He concentrated on physical phenomena, particularly "ectoplasmic materializations" which involved a mysterious visible substance representing the forces of the "other world". At the end of his research, Schrenck-Notzing was convinced of the mediums' authenticity.
Finding Aids
- Motion Picture Stills Collection, Scene from Frankenstein, Box 36This motion picture horror classic was adapted from the novel Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. It was directed by James Whale and released in 1931 by Universal Pictures after the success of Dracula, released six months earlier. Boris Karloff played the monster, and Mae Clark plays Dr. Frankenstein's wife, the bride in this photograph.
- Walter C. Dopierala Comic Book Collection 1949-1960, Box 34This collection was built by Walter C. Dopierala, an alumnus of the University of Chicago (A.B. 1966). The comic books contained in this collection reflect a wide variety of popular comic books published from the late 1940s-early 1960s, or from the end of the Golden Age to the beginning of the Silver Age. Classics Illustrated: Frankenstein, 26, no date, 1 item