Consumer Protection Law
Consumer protection law involves several different areas of law including bankruptcy, banking law, real estate, and commercial law. Furthermore, it often involves both state and federal law, as well as statutes, regulations, administrative decisions. This guide will outline the major statutory guidance for current consumer laws and regulations, as well as secondary sources to supplement your research.
Treatises & Nutshells
- Consumer Product Safety GuideCall Number: Available online via CCH Cheetah.Practice guide containing full text coverage of consumer safety statutes and regulations with explanations with annotations. Statutes included: Consumer Product Safety Act; motor vehicle safety provisions of the Federal Transportation Code; and full text of allied laws from the EPA and FDA. It also includes details of the Consumer Product Safety Commission and National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's recall and enforcement powers; new and proposed regulations; established standards; court decisions; new developments; and semimonthly reports and summaries.
- Consumer Protection and the Law byCall Number: XXKF1609.P752, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks[2 vol.; updated annually]
Treatise covering various areas of consumer protection law including advertising, sales practices, unfair and deceptive trade practices, consumer fraud, and product warranties. - Consumer Protection in the States byCall Number: Available onlinePublication Date: 201850-state survey of Unfair and Deceptive Acts and Practices (UDAP) statutes.
Consumer Protection Law in a Nutshell, 4th ed. by Call Number: XXKF1610.E72 2016, D'Angelo Law Reserve RoomPublication Date: 2016Explores the traditional areas in consumer protection and covers the state and federal laws dealing with electronic transactions. Topics include public and private actions to regulate consumer markets; methods of inducing consumer transaction; the consumer credit market; credit reports; identity theft; credit repair; and equal access to credit. Text also addresses disclosure terms in consumer transactions, regulating the cost of credit, and other terms in consumer transactions.
Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act Of 2010: Law, Explanation and Analysis by Call Number: XXKF974.D63 2010, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks & OnlinePublication Date: 2010Provides a section-by-section analysis of Dodd-Frank and its implementation and impact on previously existing legislation. Chapter 10 focuses on consumer financial protection.- Unfair and Deceptive Acts and Practices, 7th ed. byCall Number: XXKF1610.Z95S53 2008, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks[1 vol.; updated to 2011]
National Consumer Law Center (NCLC) manual providing a survey of the Unfair and Deceptive Acts and Practices law in all 50 states. Topical coverage includes: automobile leases and financing; automobile selling techniques; service contracts; credit card abuses; deceptive credit practices; loan brokers; insurance practices; new federal and state telemarketing Law; FTC Holder Rule; attorney fees; federal preemption of UDAP claims; cancellation and rescission; punitive damages; failure to disclose; unfairness standards; federal and state RICO statutes; State Attorney General enforcement; and UDAP pleadings.
Finding Books
- University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowYour starting point for identifying and locating books, treatises and journal titles in the print and electronic collections of the D'Angelo Law Library and other campus libraries.
- WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new windowA catalog containing the holdings of thousands of libraries worldwide. Use to determine other libraries that own a resource and for initiating an interlibrary loan request.
