Consumer Protection Law

While this government agency is in its infancy, this web site provides a status report of its development, as well as reports and analysis as available. Their publication Building the CFPB reports on the evolution of the agency.

Federal commission charged with protecting the public from unreasonable risks of serious injury or death from more than 15,000 types of consumer products under the agency's jurisdiction. Their Office of Legislative Affairs section includes links to laws, Congressional testimony and hearings.

The Federal Reserve publishes reports, surveys and working papers on the economy and consumer issues. This searchable database provides access to these publications by the Board of Governors and the 12 Federal Reserve Banks. A subject search for "consumer" will provide access to hundreds of publications, which can be further refined by title, author or additional key words.

Official website of the government body tasked with enforcing federal laws prohibiting anticompetitive, deceptive, and unfair business practices. Includes consumer information, advisory opinions, amicus briefs, and more.

This triennial survey conducted by the Federal Reserve provides a snapshot of consumer spending, wealth, assets, etc.

This consumer advocacy group publishes an annual survey of consumer complaints, offers testimony before Congress and regularly publishes comments to proposed federal regulation. All of this material is available on their website.

A consumer protection organization that advocates for the rights of low-income consumers, providing support on issues of consumer fraud, debt collection, consumer finance, energy assistance programs, predatory lending, and sustainable home ownership programs. Current consumer legislation, regulations and model state laws are highlighted.

econsumer.gov is an initiative of the International Consumer Protection and Enforcement Network (ICPEN). ICPEN is a network of governmental organizations involved in the enforcement of fair trade practice laws and other consumer protection activities.