History of Science

This collection consists of approximately 4,500 photographs documenting natural environments, ecologies, and plant communities in the United States at the end of the nineteenth and the beginning of the twentieth century. Produced between 1891 and 1936 by a group of American botanists generally regarded as one of the most influential in the development of modern ecological studies, these photographs provide an overview of important representative natural landscapes across the nation.

CHF’s Image Archive contains an extensive collection of photographic prints, negatives, and slides reflecting the chemical history of the past century. CHF currently holds more than 20,000 images of notable chemists, laboratories, industrial scenes, historic gatherings, and chemical artifacts.

The Earth Science World Image Bank is a service provided by the American Geological Institute (AGI). The resource is designed to provide geoscience images to the geoscience community and general public. The "For Teachers" link contains slide shows, link to images on other Earth Science web sites, and educational materials.

Over 30,000 historical digital images, photographs, slides, lithographs, engravings, drawings and other visual materials. Contains portraits and snapshots of modern American physicists, astronomers and geophysicists and other scientists; photos and illustrations of laboratories, telescopes, accelerators and other instruments, objects and places.

The Library of Congress list of selected Internet resources from various government agencies covering topics which include biology, conservation, and energy.

The gallery includes pictures taken with the facilities of the National Optical Astronomy Observatory as well as pictures of their telescopes, instruments and history. Items are added continually both from older images, which are digitized, and from new observations.

Examples of college physics professors' laboratories and apparatus used for demonstrations and laboratory courses. By Thomas B. Greenslade, Jr., Professor Emeritus of Physics at Kenyon College.

8,000 images from the Royal Society of Chemistry Library and Information Centre including original prints, individual photographs, glass lantern slides, photomicrographs and illustrations from books, dating from the present-day back to the sixteenth century; the mainstay is the "Cribb Collection," with about 433 items ranging from 1538-1890, which contains portraits of famous scientists, cartoons, and caricatures. In addition, there are many images of contemporary scientists including Nobel prize and other award winners, and analytical chemists.

This collection includes portraits of the scientists, the images of tools and buildings, and reproductions of the most famous pages of the chemical literature.

Digital collections from the Special Collections Research Center, including American Environmental Photographs, 1891-1936; Archival Photographic Files (with Yerkes Observatory images); Enrico Fermi and the Nuclear Chain Reaction; and more

The Image Gallery provides digital photographs available from the Agricultural Research Service Information Staff. The website offers access to their complete online catalog of more than 2,000 photo images and a link to the USDA Photography Center with more than 20,000 digital images.

A vast collection, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science

Search the Historical Scientific Instruments museum catalog for different types of instruments. The results often contain links to images of the instruments.