U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
The U.S. Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO) web site provides a variety of resources for inventors.
First, consult General Information Concerning Patents, which explains the differences between different types of intellectual property. Frequently Asked Questions about Patents provides more details about the USPTO and the process of patenting an invention
Although only an inventor can apply for a patent, in practice you will need the assistance of an attorney registered to practice before the USPTO. The USPTO's Inventor Assistance Center can answer general questions and even assist you as you fill out forms but they cannot provide legal advice.
Background Reading
An Introduction to Patent Law
Print: XXKF3114 .M84 2009, D'Angelo Law, Reserve
Principles of Patent Law
Print: XXKF3114.3.S34 2004, D'Angelo Law, Reserve
General Information Concerning Patents
Print: T223.K15, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks (latest is 2001)
Internet: General Information Concerning Patents via USPTO
Current Awareness Resources
- Bloomberg Law IP Law News This link opens in a new window
- The United States Patent & Trademark OfficePublished by the U.S. Copyright Office
Practice Materials
Forms
American Jurisprudence Legal Forms (v.14B)
Print: XXKF170.A542, Mansueto
Westlaw: AMJUR-LF
Current Legal Forms, with Tax Analysis (v.2)
LexisNexis: MATBEN;CLFTA
Nichols' Cyclopedia of Legal Forms Annotated (v.7A)
Westlaw: NICHOLS-LF
West's Legal Forms: Intellectual Property--Patents, trademarks, copyrights (v.25)
Print: XXKF1384.A65W47 1981, Mansueto
Westlaw: WEST-LF
Internet: U.S. Patent & Trademark Office: Trademark Forms
Patent Practice Aids
How to Write a Patent Application
Print: XXKF3125.C5S470 1992, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Manual Of Patent Examining Procedure
Print: XXKF3120.A6M36, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
LexisNexis: PATENT;MPEP
Westlaw: FIP-MPEP
Internet: Manual of Patent Examining Procedure
Manual of U.S. Patent Classification
Internet: U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
Index to the U.S. Patent Classification
Print: T223.A25, Crerar, 1st Floor Reference Collection
Internet: U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
Recent Patent-Related Notices
Internet: U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
Official Gazette of the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office - Patent and Trademark Notices
Print: T223.V3 P38, Crerar, 1st Floor Physical Science Journals
Internet: Patent and Trademark OG Notices (1995-date)
Patent Searching
There are many sources for patent searching. Bibliographic searches allow you to search descriptive information about patents but do not provide the full-text of the patent. The full-text of the patent includes the claims made in the patent, descriptive information, and any images associated with the patent. The Official Gazette lists patents issued each week.
Bibliographic Search
Index of Patents Issued from the United States Patent and Trademark Office
Print: T223.D3, Crerar, Bookstacks (1974-2002); CDRom T223.D3, Crerar, Multimedia (2002-2005)
Online: U.S. Patents via Community of Science
Internet: U.S. Patent & Trademark Office Web Patent Databases
Internet: Google Patent Search
Full Text Patents
LexisNexis: PATENT;ALL
Westlaw: US-PAT
Internet: U.S. Patent & Trademark Office Web Patent Databases
Internet: Google Patent Search
Official Gazette of the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office - Patents
Note: The U.S.P.T.O. ceased publication of the Official Gazette for Patents in print with the issue for September 24, 2002.
Print: T223.V3P38, Crerar, 1st Floor Physical Science Journals
Internet: eOfficial Gazette for Patents (current 52 weeks)
Major Treatises and Looseleaf Services
Chisum on Patents: A Treatise on the Law of Patentability, Validity, and Infringement
Print: XXKF3114.C470, D'Angelo Law, Reserve (16 vols.; loose-leaf; also updated by supplements)
LexisNexis: Chisum on Patents
Moy's Walker on Patents
Print: XXKF3114.D442 2004, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks (5 vols.; updated electronically)
Westlaw: MOY-PAT
Patent Law Fundamentals (Mills, Reiley & Highley)
Print: XXKF3114.R660 1980, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks (5 vols.; loose-leaf; updated 3x year)
Westlaw: PATLAWF
Statutes & Legislative Histories
Title 35 of the U.S. Code is the section that outlines United States patent law.
Chisum on Patents contains selective legislative histories and materials, such as congressional committee reports, for various patent acts.
The following compiled legislative histories for patent acts are available at the D'Angelo Law Library. See the Federal Legislative History research guide for information on how to compile a legislative history for other patent statutes.
Compulsory Licensing of Patents: A Legislative History
Print: J74.C31 S62 cong.85 sess.1 SR.236 no.12, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Government Assistance to Invention and Research: A Legislative History
Print: J73.C313 cong.86 sess.1 SR.53 no.22, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Single Court of Patent Appeals: A Legislative History
Print: J74.C313 cong.85 sess.2 SR.236 no.20, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
American Inventor's Protection Act of 1999
American Inventor's Protection Act of 1999 Information (from USPTO)
Internet: United States Patent and Trademark Office
American Inventor's Prevention Act of 1999
Internet: Congressional Research Service Report
Patents and Innovation: Issues in Patent Reform
Internet: Congressional Research Service Report
Summary of the New Rules Governing the Examination and Publication of U.S. Patent Applications
Internet: White & Case, LLP
Case Law Research
Reporter
The United States Patents Quarterly
Print: XXKF2975.3.B87, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Online: BNA Intellectual Property Library
Finding tool
The United States Patents Quarterly. Annual Digest.
Print: XXKF2975.3.U52, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Electronic Source for Patent Decisions
LexisNexis: PATENT;FEDCTS
Westlaw: FIP-CS
Internet: Supreme Court Cases about Patent Law (from the Legal Information Institute, Cornell)
Internet: Patent and trademark cases from Federal Circuit Court via IPO (from 1996)
Administrative Law Research
Title 37 of the Code of Federal Regulations is the section of the CFR that includes regulations affecting patents.
AGENCY DECISIONS
A person who wishes to appeal the decision of a patent examiner refusing to grant a patent may take an appeal to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences. The Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks hears other matters by petition.
Board of Patent Appeals & Interferences
LexisNexis: PATENT;PATAPP
Westlaw: FIP-PTO
Internet: Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences (USPTO)
The United States Patents Quarterly
Print: XXKF2975.3.B87, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Online: BNA Intellectual Property Library
Commissioner of Patents
Decisions of the Commissioner of Patents
Print: T223.M, Crerar, Bookstacks (1907-1963)
LexisNexis: PATENT;COMMR (1981-present)
Westlaw: FIP-PTO
The United States Patents Quarterly
Print: XXKF2975.3.B87, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Online: BNA Intellectual Property Library
