U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
The U.S. Patent & Trademark Office web site provides a variety of resources regarding trademarks.
Consult Basic Facts About Trademarks an informative guide that explains the differences between different types of intellectual property. Frequently Asked Questions About Trademarks provides more details about trademark registration, trademark searching, and applications for trademark registration.
Background Reading
Trademark Basics
Internet: U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Mitchell et al., U.S. Trade Dress Law, 2002.
XXKF3193.U55 2002, D'Angelo Law Library, Reserve Room
Pattishall, Hilliard, & Welch, Trademarks and Unfair Competition Deskbook, 9th ed. 2012.
XXKF3179.P3732 2012, D'Angelo Law Library, Bookstacks
Current Awareness Resources
BNA's Patent, Trademark & Copyright Journal
Print: XXKF3091.A3B53, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Online: BNA's Patent, Trademark & Copyright Journal
Trademark Reporter
Print: KA1.T75, Mansueto
LexisNexis: TRDMRK;TMR
Online: HeinOnline
The United States Patents Quarterly
Print: XXKF2975.3.B87, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Online: BNA Intellectual Property Library
The United States Patent & Trademark Office
Internet: U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
Practice Materials
Forms
American Jurisprudence Legal Forms (v.17)
Print: XXKF170.A542, Mansueto
Westlaw: AMJUR-LF
Current Legal Forms, with Tax Analysis (v.2)
LexisNexis: MATBEN;CLFTA
Nichols' Cyclopedia of Legal Forms Annotated (v.8A)
Westlaw: NICHOLS-LF
West's Legal Forms: Intellectual Property--Patents, trademarks, copyrights (v.25)
Print: XXKF1384.A65W47 1981, Mansueto
Westlaw: WEST-LF
Internet: U.S. Patent & Trademark Office: Trademark Forms
Trademark Practice Aids
Preparing U.S. Trademark Applications: Avoiding Common Mistakes
Print: XXKF3180.A93 2002, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Trademark Registration Practice
Westlaw: TMREGPRAC
Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure (TMEP)
Print: XXKF3180.G55 2005, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
LexisNexis: Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure
Westlaw: Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure (FIP-TMEP database)
Internet: Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure via U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
Trademark Acceptable Identification of Goods and Services Manual
Internet: U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
Official Gazette of the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office - Patent and Trademark Notices
Print: T223.V3 P38, Crerar, 1st Floor Physical Science Journals
Internet: Patent and Trademark OG Notices (1995-date)
Trademark Searching
There are many sources for trademark searching. Bibliographic searhces allow you to search descriptive information about trademarks. Full-text searches retrieve the description of the trademark as well as any drawings associated with a registered trademark. The Trademark Official Gazette lists trademark registrations issued each week and those published for opposition.
Bibliographic Search
Index of Trademarks Issued from the United States Patent and Trademark Office
Print: T223.V4A21, Crerar, Bookstacks
Full Text Trademark Registrations
LexisNexis: Federal Trademarks
Westlaw: TRADEMARKSCAN - U.S. - Federal (Dialog) (FIP-TM database)
Internet: Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) via the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
Trademark Official Gazette
Internet: U.S. Patent & Trademark Office (most recent 5 issues)
Major Treatises and Looseleaf Services
Callmann on Unfair Competition, Trademarks and Monopolies [Altman], 4th ed. 1981-present. [7 vol; updated 3x year]
XXKF1609.C330 1981, D'Angelo Law Library, Bookstacks
Westlaw: CALLMANN
Federal Unfair Competition [McKenney & Long]. 1989-present. [2 vol.; loose-leaf]
XXKF3193.M380 1989, D'Angelo Law Library, Bookstacks
Westlaw: UNFAIRCOMP
Gilson on Trademarks. 1974-present. [10 vol.; loose-leaf; updated semi-annually]
XXKF3180.G54, D'Angelo Law Library, Bookstacks
LexisNexis: GILSON
McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition, 4th ed. 1996-present. [7 vol.; loose-leaf; updated quarterly]
XXKF3180.M290 1996, D'Angelo Law Library, Reserve Room
Westlaw: MCCARTHY
Milgrim on Trade Secrets. 1967-present. [4 vol.; loose-leaf; updated 3x year]
XXKF3197.M54 1967, D'Angelo Law Library, Reserve Room
LexisNexis: MILGRM
Restatement of the Law - Third - Unfair Competition. 1995. [1 vol.; case annotations updated by pocket parts]
XXKF3195.R478 1995, D'Angelo Law Library, Bookstacks & Reserve Room
LexisNexis: UNCOM2 & UNCOM3
Westlaw: REST-UNCOM
Case Law Research
Reporters
The United States Patents Quarterly
Print: XXKF2975.3.B87, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Online: BNA Intellectual Property Library
Finding tools
The United States Patents Quarterly. Annual Digest.
Print: XXKF2975.3.U52, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Electronic Sources for Copyright Decisions
LexisNexis: TRDMRK;FEDCTS
Westlaw: FIP-CS
Internet: Supreme Court Cases about Trademark (from the Legal Information Institute, Cornell)
Internet: Patent and trademark cases from Federal Circuit Court via IPO (from 1996)
Statutes & Legislative Histories
Title 15, Chapter 22 is the section of the U.S. Code that outlines United States trademark law.
McCarthy on Trademarks contains references to legislative documents pertaining to trademark laws. See the Federal Legislative History research guide for information on how to compile a legislative history for other trademarks statutes.
Print: XXKF3180.M290 1996, D'Angelo Law, Reserve
Westlaw: MCCARTHY
Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act (ACPA)
USPTO Report to Congress: The Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act of 1999, Section 3006 Concerning the Abusive Registration of Domain Names
Internet: U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
Federal Trademark Dilution Act
Federal Trademark Dilution Act Legislative History, Compiled by the Library of Congress
Internet: THOMAS
Administrative Law Research
Title 37, Chapter I of the Code of Federal Regulation is the section of the CFR outlining trademark regulations. See the Administrative Law research guide for information about the CFR and Federal Register.
The Trademark Trial and Appeal Board adjudicates disputes relating to the registration of trademarks. The Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks hears other matters by petition.
Trademark Trial and Appeal Board
LexisNexis: TRDMRK;TTAB
Westlaw: FIP-PTO
Internet: Trademark Trial and Appeal Board via U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
The United States Patents Quarterly
XXKF2975.3.B87, D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Online: BNA Intellectual Property Library
Commissioner of Patents
Decisions of the Commissioner of Patents
Print: K90.P3A2, Mansueto Library (1869-1968)
HeinOnline: Decisions of the Commissioner of Patents (1869-1968)
LexisNexis: COMMR (1981-present)
Westlaw: FIP-PTO
