Library Guides: South African Human Rights Law & Policy: Home

Database Quick Links

Law Databases

Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
Australasian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
Australian Commonwealth and state court and tribunal opinions, legislation, law reform commission studies, and selected law journals. The Indigenous Law Library gathers all documents relevant to indigenous law issues.
Commonwealth Legal Information Institute (CommonLII) This link opens in a new window
Constitutions of the Countries of the World This link opens in a new window
Full text of foreign constitutions in English, English translation, with constitutional chronology, and bibliographies. See also Historical Constitutions.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Content is available in many different languages, including Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Stock data and indices are available for 5 years.
Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
See the South Africa Foreign Law Guide.
Guide to legal systems worldwide and major law sources. Current sources of codes and basic legislation in jurisdictions from around the world.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text, page images, and PDF versions of law journal articles from the first issue to the present, plus the Federal Register from 1936 to 1980, U.S. Supreme Court opinions from 1754 to the present, and U.S. treaties from 1776 to the present.
HeinOnline: World Constitutions Illustrated This link opens in a new window
WCI collects current and historical constitutions for countries of the world in the vernacular and in English translation and in PDF format; constitutional-related documents, journal articles, periodicals, and major treatises; constitutional history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis for Law Schools access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the Law School.
LexisNexis access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the Law School.
Oxford Reports on International Law This link opens in a new window
ORIL is a current awareness service for alerts about new international law cases, with full texts of case-law, English translations, and expert analyses. We subscribe to the following modules: 1) Oxford Reports on International Law in Domestic Courts (ILDC); 2) Oxford Reports on International Criminal Law; 3) Oxford Reports on International Human Rights Law; 4) Oxford Reports on International Courts of General Jurisdiction; 5) Oxford Reports on International Investment Claims.
SAFLII: Southern African Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
Primary law, chiefly case law, from South Africa, Angola, Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Swaziland,Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe. For the Republic of South Africa, coverage of court and tribunal decisions is very comprehensive.
vLex Justis This link opens in a new window
Global foreign law database which contains cases, statutes, and other legal materials in 13 languages for 134 countries. It is strongest for the law of the following countries: Spain, Brazil, Argentina, Venezuela, Portugal, Italy, the UK, Belgium, France, and the U.S.
Westlaw Precision This link opens in a new window
Westlaw access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the Law School.

Human Rights in South Africa

Research Assistance

This research guide is created for Fellows in the Law School J.D. International Human Rights (IHR) Program. For additional information about the IHR internship program, contact Susan Curry, Director, Public Interest Law and Policy, Office of Career Services (OCS).

For library research assistance, contact Lyonette Louis-Jacques, Foreign and International Law Librarian and Lecturer in Law, or Bill Schwesig, Reference Librarian and Bibliographer for Common Law. You can also contact the D'Angelo Law Library reference staff by clicking on the Ask A Law Librarian image. Another useful contact is Ellen Bryan, Reference Librarian, and specialist for African Studies at Regenstein Library.

Tips

Before you go:

Activate your LexisNexis and Westlaw accounts for the summer, including international access
Make sure you can access University subscription databases via proxy server
Review the D'Angelo Law Library webpage resources, including Ask-A-Law-Librarian
check the guide to African Studies resources at the University of Chicago Library
consult with Bill Schwesig, specialist for South African law

Check available resources at or near:

Centre for Applied Legal Studies (CALS)
Located at the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa. Issues: access to justice, education, gender, housing & evictions, labour.
Institute of Development and Labour Law
IDLL, University of Cape Town, South Africa; labor, employment, and social security law
Southern Africa Litigation Centre (SALC)
Located in Johannesburg, South Africa. Focuses on HIV/AIDS, international criminal justice, media defence, prisoners' rights, human rights and the rule of law generally in Angola, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Ask a Law Librarian

D'Angelo Law Librarians

Contact:

1121 E. 60th Street
Chicago, IL 60637

773-702-9631