History of Medicine

60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division of the US National Library of Medicine (NLM); collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.

has approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto.

contains thousands of medical and dental images, but are generally available only for purchase.

is a collection from Duke University Medical Center Library containing over 3,000 photographs, illustrations, engravings, and bookplates from the history of the health and life sciences.

An online version of the book, Images from the History of the Public Health Service; A Photographic Exhibit by Ramunas Kondratas. See Print Resources below for more information.

is a digital project at UCLA and contains a searchable and browseable database of early medical images.

An index of articles, photos, and research about medical antiques. Also discussed are the techniques of collecting the artifacts and sets associated with surgery instruments, leeching, bloodletting, drugs, and other aspects of medical science prior to 1900

a selection of images in online "galleries" available, with a much larger collection available for research at the museum.

The online database of the Catalog of American Portraits contains information for over 100,000 portraits recorded nationwide.

The online database contains influential characters in British history and includes approximately 34,000 works, 11,500 of which are illustrated.

by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Topics include: Medieval Manuscripts in the NLM (2001) Classics of Traditional Chinese Medicine (2001) Emotions and Disease (2000) Islamic Medical Manuscripts at the National Library of Medicine (2000) That Girl There Is Doctor In Medicine" Elizabeth Blackwell, America's First Woman, M.D. (2000) Breath of Life (1999) Frankenstein: Penetrating the Secrets of Nature (1998) Here Today, Here Tomorrow: Varieties of Medical Ephemera (1995) Islamic Culture and the Medical Arts (1994) "If You Knew the Conditions ...;" Health Care to Native Americans (1994) Cesarian Section -- A Brief History (1993) Paracelsus, Five Hundred Years: Three American Exhibits (1993)