Black Studies

Contains works by more than 100 poets searchable by a number of fields, including keyword, first line or title keyword, and poet name. Biographical profiles accompany each poet's work.

Full text of over 1400 plays by 233 African American playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Short stories and folktales by African, African American, and Caribbean authors. Black Short Fiction (BLFI) contains approximately 760 stories and folktales by 19 African, African American, and Caribbean authors. When complete this collection should have approximately 8000 works of short fiction.

Over 400 sources by African American authors, including monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975.

Fiction, poetry, and essays by authors from Africa and the African diaspora.

Includes published memoirs, letters and diaries, drawn from more than 500 sources, plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials, searchable by words and phrases, as well as by places, battles, dates, form of material, etc. Database also includes 1000-item bibliography and 1000 biographies.

Contains diaries and letters, dating from colonial times to 1950 drawn from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, and 7,000 pages of previously unpublished materials.

American Song is a historical database featuring music from America's past. Included are songs by and about Native Americans, miners, immigrants, African slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Also featured are the songs of the Civil Rights movement, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, and anti-war protests. Approximately 116,000 tracks and 7,000 albums are included. Unlimited simultaneous users.

ECCO is a fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800. It is is a digitization of the eighteenth-century section of the works catalogued in the English Short-title Catalogue (ESTC). The ESTC project has been recording all works published or printed in Britain, Ireland, territories under British colonial rule, and the United States. It also catalogues material printed elsewhere which contains significant text in English, Welsh, Irish..

Offers electronic texts selected from the current output of American university presses, as well as those from a specially selected backlist of titles. American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) project.

This incomparable digital collection contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. Digitized from one of the most important collections ever produced on microform, Early American Imprints, Series I is based on Charles Evans renowned American Bibliography and Roger Bristols supplement. Including more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages

A comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted "American Bibliography, 1801-1819" by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. With more than four million pages from over 36,000 items

Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents, forming a collection of over 6 million pages from 29,000 works.

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions specially created for the product.

Covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. Part I: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850, Part II: 1851-1914, Part III: 1890–1945, Part IV: 1800-1890.