Library Guides: ARTH 2/36803: Architectural Theory & Practice in the Enlightenment & Nineteenth Century: Books & Newspapers

Using Subject Headings

Using the Library Catalog:

To find books on your subject, use the BROWSE index and select "SUBJECT" from the drop-down menu.

Some sample searches:

Boullee Etienne-Louis (note subheading for "criticism and interpretation")
Neoclassicism (architecture) --france (subdivisions by country and city and following main heading)
Architectural Criticism (further subdivides geographically and chronologically)
Architecture--historiography
Architecture--philosophy

The Library Catalog has an Advanced Search feature. Select the "Advanced Keyword" option and enter terms in the subject" field. These terms do not need to be in a set order. Results will be by default organized by relevence; you can swtich the list to newest first or oldest first.

For example:

architectural criticism germany 19th century
boullee criticism (add publication date facet limit; language facet limit)
neoclassicism architecture france

Catalogs

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
Identify items not held by the University of Chicago and place Interlibrary Loan requests by using the FindIt button.
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.

E-Books

Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window
Offers electronic texts selected from the current output of American university presses, as well as those from a specially selected backlist of titles. American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) project.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A shared digital repository created by major research libraries. U of C users may login to download the full texts of books in the public domain.
HathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain
UChicago users may login to download high quality PDF versions where available.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them.

Newspapers

A selection of newspaper collections online.

Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
From the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center collection of 17th and 18th century newspapers.
Online journals from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center collection of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals. Topics covered include the writings of Sir Isaac Newton, the French Revolution, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and coffee house gossip and discussion. Supports studies of the Eighteenth Century, including Literature, the Theatre, the origins and rise of Romanticism, Politics, Revolution and Rebellion, Social issues, Gender, Society Life, Religion and the influence of the Press.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
British Newspapers, 1600-1900 This link opens in a new window
Includes 19th Century British Library Newspapers
3 million pages of historic newspapers, newsbooks & ephemera
National & Regional papers from British Isles
Gallica This link opens in a new window
Includes Figaro (1854-1942) and other French newspapers.
Gallica is a digital library of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Contains numerous electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science.
Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
Digital edition of the Times of London. Includes articles, advertisements, illustrations, and photos plus comprehensive search options.

Subject Guide

Nancy Spiegel

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Bibliographer for Art and Cinema
Bibliographer for History
Regenstein Library Room 463

773-702-5193

Subjects: African-American Studies, Art, Architecture, and Photography, Arts, Cinema and Media Studies, History, Humanities, Medieval and Byzantine Studies, Social Sciences