The best modern art encyclopedia, searchable by concepts as well as by artists' and architects' names. The bibliographies are a worthwhile starting point for further research. Encyclopedia covering the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s, with articles on the art and culture of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas and the Pacific. Database includes links to images and further information in museum and other art-related web sites.
The best modern art encyclopedia, searchable by concepts as well as by artists' names. The bibliographies are a worthwhile starting point for further research
Full-text version of Oxford Companion to Architecture, Dictionary of Architecture, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms and more.
Full-text version of Dictionary of Architecture, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art and more. Provides access to over 120 language and subject dictionaries, reference works, and biographical directories in a variety of disciplines published by OUP that can be searched individually or in one cross-searchable database.
The electronic edition of Diderot's Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers, par une Société de Gens de lettres. Published under the direction of Diderot and d'Alembert between 1751 and 1772, the edition includes the 17 volumes of text and 11 volumes of plates.
The Encyclopdie ou Dictionnaire raisonn des sciences, des arts et des mtiers, par une Socit de Gens de lettres was published under the direction of Diderot and d'Alembert, with 17 volumes of text and 11 volumes of plates between 1751 and 1772. Containing 72,000 articles written by more than 140 contributors, the Encyclopdie was a massive reference work for the arts and sciences, as well as a machine de guerre which served to propagate the ideas of the French Enlightenment. The impact of the Encyclopdie was enormous. Through its attempt to classify learning and to open all domains of human activity to its readers, the Encyclopdie gave expression to many of the most important intellectual and social developments of its time.