Resource covering literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Coverage includes traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as books, bibliographies and dissertations.
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including: Hundreds of the Librarys article databases Over 40,000 journals and periodicals The University of Chicago Library catalog Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
Expanding Your Search to Other Disciplines
Interdisciplinary research often requires expanding your search to other fields for a comprehensive literature review. We recommend searching related subject-specific research databases. Check the Library's list of Subject Guides for resources in other fields not listed below.
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological material.
Anthropology Plus unites two premier indexes created in two hemispheres. The result is extensive, worldwide coverage of core journals plus local and lesser-known journals. Together, Harvard University's highly respected Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) provide a uniquely broad and rich resource for education and research in anthropology and related fields
Indexing and abstracting database which corresponds to Art Index (Z5931.A75), indexing more than 300 key, international arts publications. (1984-present): A good starting place for mostly English-language articles on topics from classical art through 21st-century performance artists.
Citations of articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews of modern and contemporary art. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present.
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
A core resource for identifying film criticism, reviews, and interviews, covering 300 of the most important scholarly and popular titles in the literature of film studies.
Indexes over 200 international periodicals that cover all aspects of the performing arts, including dance, film, drama/theater, stagecraft, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and the performance business.
Indexes materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, excluding book reviews. Citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essays, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, & bibliographies. Also includes citations to books and journal articles having to do with linguistics and language topics. Video tutorial on searching writer's names as subjects
Bibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. PsycINFO covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
Provides access to research in sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations since 1963 (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals.