Library Guides: LGBTQIA+ Studies: Television & Films

Streaming

Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Under Subjects, select "Gender Studies" for films relating to LGBTQ issues.
Docuseek2 provides exclusive educational streaming access to documentary and social issue films from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, Scorpion TV, Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volumes 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Includes videos focusing on LGBTQ psychotherapy & counseling, queer theory, sexual identity & more.
Contains footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals and documentaries on the human condition.
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Includes videos about LGBTQ issues in education.
A collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Contains teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
C-SPAN Video Library This link opens in a new window
Includes video of congressional debates, hearings, presidential speeches, etc.
The complete video archive of the C-SPAN cable network. Congressional debates, hearing, presidential speeches, and more.

DVDs

Many of the Library's DVDs are shelved in the 2nd and 3rd floor of Regenstein Library. Several other campus libraries have video collections, including D'Angelo Law Library, Crerar, and Social Services Administration (SSA) Library. Loan periods vary by library.

Use the Library Catalog to search for specific films or shows. Use the Advanced Search feature to limit to DVDs. You can add keywords, title keywords, subject terms, or director (under "author").

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.

Subject Specialist

Nancy Spiegel

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Bibliographer for Art and Cinema
Bibliographer for History
Regenstein Library Room 463

773-702-5193

Subjects: African-American Studies, Art, Architecture, and Photography, Arts, Cinema and Media Studies, History, Humanities, Medieval and Byzantine Studies, Social Sciences