Library Guides: Philosophy: Articles & Journals

How do I Find Journal Articles?

There are several different approaches to finding journal articles, depending on your starting point.

1. If you are looking for a known item:

Try Articles Plus. For instance, search for the title of the journal and click the "Find It" button to get access.
Search the Library Catalog for the journal title and use the "Find It" button

2. If you are exploring a topic, use an article index such as Philosopher's Index or PhilPapers. This approach is more comprehensive than going to JSTOR which does not include the last five years of journal content. Also, JSTOR only includes a fraction of the journal titles indexed in Philosopher's Index or other subject-specific indexes.

3. If you are looking for a particular journal online, search the Library's e-journal index.

Indexes for Finding Articles in Philosophy

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
To search for sources written by philosophers
Contains citations and abstracts covering scholarly research in the field of philosophy. Covers all major articles from anthologies and books in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French as well as 480 journals from 38 countries.
Philpapers This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. We also accept articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies

When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the UofC online catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders to the ILL Office for items that the Library does not own.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
To search for works across all fields of study
This database includes full text for over 4,500 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. Full text coverage is especially strong in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, and theology. In addition there are over 8,200 abstracted and indexed journals, over 7,000 of which are peer-reviewed.
IBZ: International Bibliography of Periodical Literature This link opens in a new window
An international and interdisciplinary bibliography of academic periodical literature mainly from the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts. Indexes from about 11,500 journals covering the years 1983 to the present.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. Contains records for articles from periodicals, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogues, etc. published world-wide.
L'Année philologique This link opens in a new window
Indexes all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, linguistics, archaeology, epigraphy and numismatics, history, philosophy, science, and technology.

International philosophical bibliography
Available in print format.
& more less...
Formed by the union of: Répertoire bibliographique de la philosophie, and: Bibliografisch repertorium van de wijsbegeerte.
Philosophy Compass
& more less...
Philosophy Compass, which has recent survey and state-of-the-debate articles
Philosopher's Index: A Retrospective Index to Non-U.S. English Language Publications from 1940
3 vols. print ed. only
Philosophy Journals & Writer's Resources
PhilSci: An Archive for Preprints in Philosophy of Science

Citation Linking

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For University of Chicago settings for Google Scholar, click here.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
With citation linking. Uncheck the Science Index.
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Online Journal Collections

Here are some collections of online journals, but if you're exploring a topic, I suggest using a journal article index such as Philosopher's Index.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. There are now over 8000 journals in the directory.
Digizeitschriften - Deutsche digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv This link opens in a new window
DigiZeitschriften provides full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals published in Germany or neighboring countries since the late 1700s. The journals are in German, English, or other European languages and date back to their first volumes. Fields most prominently represented are mathematics (one- fourth of all titles), literature, history, the arts, economics, and law. Other fields covered include education, geology, librarianship, music, religion, sciences, and sociology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.

Philosophy Journals & Writer's Resources

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of over 100 scholarly journals published by university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
UChicago E-Journals This link opens in a new window
The Electronic Journals Database provides access to the majority of the electronic journal titles available through the University of Chicago Library. Browse by journal title or conduct a title keyword or ISSN search.
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Listings of currently published journals, newsletters, and annuals, as well as discontinued publications. Indicates whether periodicals are online. Includes information about which databases index the content.

Browsing Journals

Philpapers This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. We also accept articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies

Browse Philosophy journals in Browzine
Browse current issues of some of the most important Philosophy journals

Subject Specialist

Anne Knafl

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 462

773-702-8442

Subjects: Humanities, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.