Library Guides: Philosophy: Books

Ebooks at UChicago Library

As of May 2024, the Library has a significant backlog of ebooks records to add to our catalog. The easiest way to locate ebooks owned by UChicago Library is to search ArticlesPlus for the title and author.

See also the Library's guide How do I find e-books?

Below are links to some of our Philosophy ebook collection in various publisher databases.

Brill e-books in Philosophy

Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker's authoritative editions of over thirty authors, including early German texts such as Lancelot and Ginover and Wolfram von Eschenbach, editions of important authors such as Herder, Kleist, and Bchner, and the works of philosophers such as Kant, Schleiermacher, and Fichte. Collections of historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts add context and background material.
Gallica This link opens in a new window
Important works in French philosophy from 16th-20th century.
Gallica is a digital library of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Contains numerous electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science.
Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window
Offers electronic texts selected from the current output of American university presses, as well as those from a specially selected backlist of titles. American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) project.

Oxford Scholarship Online-Philosophy
Oxford Handbooks and Bibliographies in Philosophy can be accessed on the Reference page of this guide.
SpringerLink--Philosophy

Catalogs for Finding Books

Use the Catalog to find books and e-books at the Library. To find books beyond the Library, use WorldCat, which is especially useful for discovering what other libraries own a particular title and for placing an interlibrary loan request.

Philosophy titles in the UChicago catalog
Executes a search for all titles with a "B" call number. Sorted by call number.

Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog (KVK) This link opens in a new window
The KVK allows users to search the catalogues of multiple German, Swiss, and Austrian libraries. Other international libraries can be added as well.
University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.

Dissertations

Dissertations in Philosophy at UChicago
Executes a search for all dissertations written in the Philosophy department at UChicago. Arranged by call number.
Recent Dissertations in Philosophy at UChicago
& more less...
Dissertations written in the Philosophy department at UChicago since 2009. Full-text PDF available.
How do I find dissertations and theses?
More information about finding dissertations and theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.
Foreign Dissertations at the Center for Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
Locate doctoral dissertations from countries other than Canada and the United States held at the Center for Research Libraries.

Book Reviews

Looking for book reviews? Start with a title search in Philosopher's Index. Then, try other options.

Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Search a book title and click on the Book Reviews facet under Format in the left column.
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
IBR Online This link opens in a new window
Multilingual and interdisciplinary index to book reviews, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

How do I find reviews?
& more less...
A guide for finding reviews, including book reviews.

Subject Specialist

Anne Knafl

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 462

773-702-8442

Subjects: Humanities, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.