Library Guides: How do I find magazines?: Small & Alternative Press

Starting Points

Find a Magazine Online

Magazine Databases

Popular Magazines This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,000 magazines. This database is includes complete full text and includes over 600 titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries".
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Part of Nineteenth Century Index. Indexes the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from 1665 to 1995, including many European titles. Includes links to some full-text articles. Dates of full-text coverage vary by title.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Coverage is from as early as 1665.
Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

Covers 1890 1982

Databases for Small or Alternative Press Magazines

Left Index This link opens in a new window
The Left Index is a complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Coverage includes more than 247,500 citations and abstracts (with some full text) and spans from 1982 and earlier to present.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Resource covering literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Coverage includes traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as books, bibliographies and dissertations. This resource is funded by the Illinois State Library.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Highly recommended, comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information.
Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
Provides in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences.
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
Includes selected abstracts from research journals.
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide informationfrom analyses of political, economic, and social issues to Latin American arts and letterson Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the United States.

Reference Sources

Below are some select reference sources for finding periodicals. For additional bibliographies, Ask a Librarian for assistance.

Ask a Librarian

Contact:

Email Us
773-702-4685 (Phone)
773-825-6777 (Text)

Subjects: Astronomy & Astrophysics, Biological Sciences, Humanities, Molecular Engineering, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences