Library Guides: PERS 13333/33333 Reading Persian for Research Purposes Prerequisite Course/Reading Persian for Research Purposes: Journals and Articles

Related guides

Middle East
by Marlis J. Saleh Updated May 22, 2025 1039 views this year
How do I find articles?
by Ask a Librarian Updated Jun 11, 2025 7370 views this year
How do I cite resources?
by Ask a Librarian Updated Jun 20, 2025 2336 views this year

Some Suggested Journals

Persian Literature

Manuscript Studies

Namah-'i Baharistan

History

Article Databases

TIPS FOR SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES IN PERSIAN

The first database listed is limited to Persian-language articles.
Following that is a select list of interdisciplinary databases. For more subject-specific databases, consult the Subject Guides
Most article databases allow you to limit by language. Often you'll need to go to an advanced search to find this option.

Magiran
An index of over 3000 Iranian scientific, specialized, and general journals and magazines, and several national newspapers.
Articles Plus
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
Academic Search Complete
This database includes full text for over 4,500 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. Full text coverage is especially strong in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, and theology. In addition there are over 8,200 abstracted and indexed journals, over 7,000 of which are peer-reviewed.
ATLA Religion with ATLASerials PLUS
AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS) includes more than 580+ full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries. Atlas PLUS includes all of the titles in Atla’s original full-text product, AtlaSerials (Atlas), and 200+ additional full-text titles.
JSTOR
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.

Finding Journals in Persian

You can search for print journals and e-journals using the Catalog. Use the pull down to select journal title.

To find all the journals on a particular subject in Persian, it's best to go to Advanced Search. Input your subject/discipline as a "subject." For language, select Persian. And for format, select "journal."

Subject Specialist

Marlis J. Saleh

Send Email

Contact:

Bibliographer for Middle East Studies
Joseph Regenstein Library,
Room 563
(773) 702-8425

Subjects: Middle East

PERS 13333/33333 Reading Persian for Research Purposes Prerequisite Course/Reading Persian for Research Purposes