Information for Economics Students

The Library subscribes to many databases for locating articles. These have the advantage of being focused on specific disciplines, so they will be more precise than Google Scholar. EconLit is the primary source for finding empirical research in economics and finance.

Our databases will have citations to articles and full text of some, but not all. Our Find It service links database citations to the full text of articles at publishers' sites or in other databases. Look for this icon to launch a search.
 

Find It will also connect you to Scan and Deliver and Interlibrary Loan

We highlight other article databases on our primary guide.

Use Scan and Deliver to request chapters of books or articles from journals that the Library only holds in print. This service takes 3-5 business days. More information on the Scan and Deliver home page

The Library will attempt to borrow any book that we do not have in our collection. We recommend doing this if a book held by the Library is checked out. You can also request scans of book chapters and articles in journals that are not available through the Library

Most Library resources use your network address to authenticate you as a UChicago user. Access will be automatic if you are on campus ethernet or Wi-Fi. If you are off-campus, links from the Library web pages will push you to an authentication screen. We also have browser tools that can help. We highly recommend the LibKey Nomad add-on, which connects our Find It service to publisher web sites. That and other tools are on this guide.

BrowZine is a service that lets you scan journal tables of contents without visiting the publisher site. You can quickly view any article of interest directly from the BrowZine App or web site.

Download BrowZine Apps

Download the free app for additional functionality.