The American Culture Wars

Newspaper Archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more.

Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States--those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.--Catalog Record

Highly recommended, comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information.
Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
Provides in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences.
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
Includes selected abstracts from research journals.

Provides bibliographic citations and full-text articles appearing in numerous U.S. ethnic minority newspapers, consumer magazines, and some journals. The database focus is on African American, American Indian, Asian American, and U.S. Latino publications, though many other minority groups are also included.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.

Resource covering literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Coverage includes traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as books, bibliographies and dissertations. This resource is funded by the Illinois State Library.

Full text of the historically Black newspaper, which was distributed nationwide. Coverage is 1910-2010

1986 - present available in Access World News

Offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue, 1849-2011.

Leading American source for news and opinion during the middle years of the 19th century. From Finding Aids, select a Topic to see lists of subjects.

(1865-1922)

Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1877 through 1993.