Finding scholarly books on your topic
1. Begin by using the keyword search screen. You may place limits on your search at the beginning, or use the facets later.
2. Explore the subject headings of relevant books to build your bibliography.
---------------------------------------------------
Here is an example of some interesting books that were retrieved using a keyword search for "civil war monuments". Note the hyperlinked subject strings in each of the catalog records:
Civil War Monuments and the Militarization of America by
This sweeping new assessment of Civil War monuments unveiled in the United States between the 1860s and 1930s argues that they were pivotal to a national embrace of military values. Americans' wariness of standing armies limited construction of war memorials in the early republic, Thomas J. Brown explains, and continued to influence commemoration after the Civil War. As large cities and small towns across the North and South installed an astonishing range of statues, memorial halls, and other sculptural and architectural tributes to Civil War heroes, communities debated the relationship of military service to civilian life through fund-raising campaigns, artistic designs, oratory, and ceremonial practices. Brown shows that distrust of standing armies gave way to broader enthusiasm for soldiers in the Gilded Age. Some important projects challenged the trend, but many Civil War monuments proposed new norms of discipline and vigor that lifted veterans to a favored political status and modeled racial and class hierarchies. A half century of Civil War commemoration reshaped remembrance of the American Revolution and guided American responses to World War I. Brown provides the most comprehensive overview of the American war memorial as a cultural form and reframes the national debate over Civil War monuments that remain potent presences on the civic landscape.
ISBN: 9781469653730Publication Date: 2019-12-09
The False Cause: fraud, fabrication, and White supremacy in Confederate memory by
The Lost Cause ideology that emerged after the Civil War and flourished in the early twentieth century in essence sought to recast a struggle to perpetuate slavery as a heroic defense of the South. As Adam Domby reveals here, this was not only an insidious goal; it was founded on falsehoods. The False Cause focuses on North Carolina to examine the role of lies and exaggeration in the creation of the Lost Cause narrative. In the process the book shows how these lies have long obscured the past and been used to buttress white supremacy in ways that resonate to this day. Domby explores how fabricated narratives about the war's cause, Reconstruction, and slavery--as expounded at monument dedications and political rallies--were crucial to Jim Crow. He questions the persistent myth of the Confederate army as one of history's greatest, revealing a convenient disregard of deserters, dissent, and Unionism, and exposes how pension fraud facilitated a myth of unwavering support of the Confederacy among nearly all white Southerners. Domby shows how the dubious concept of "black Confederates" was spun from a small number of elderly and indigent African American North Carolinians who got pensions by presenting themselves as "loyal slaves." The book concludes with a penetrating examination of how the Lost Cause narrative and the lies on which it is based continue to haunt the country today and still work to maintain racial inequality.
ISBN: 9780813943763Publication Date: 2020-02-11
An Illustrated Guide to Virginia's Confederate Monuments by
From well-known battlefields, such as Manassas, Fredericksburg, and Appomattox, to lesser-known sites, such as Sinking Spring Cemetery and Rude's Hill, Sedore leads readers on a vivid journey through Virginia's Confederate history. Tablets, monoliths, courthouses, cemeteries, town squares, battlefields, and more are cataloged in detail and accompanied by photographs and meticulous commentary. Each entry contains descriptions, fascinating historical information, and location, providing a complete portrait of each site. Much more than a visual tapestry or a tourist's handbook, An Illustrated Guide to Virginia's Confederate Monuments draws on scholarly and field research to reveal these sites as public efforts to reconcile mourning with Southern postwar ideologies. Sedore analyzes in depth the nature of these attempts to publicly explain Virginia's sense of grief after the war, delving deep into the psychology of a traumatized area. From commemorations of famous generals to memories of unknown soldiers, the dead speak from the pages of this sweeping companion to history.
ISBN: 9780809386253Publication Date: 2011-04-29
Recalling Deeds Immortal: Florida monuments to the civil war by
"A comprehensive examination of the ways in which the wartime service and sacrifice of Floridians has been memorialized from the Reconstruction Era through the present. A valuable contribution to the subject of Civil War Memory."--David J. Coles, coeditor of A Yankee Horseman in the Shenandoah Valley "A complete guide. The authors locate every Civil War monument in Florida and explain their symbolism."--Daniel L. Schafer, author of Thunder on the River: The Civil War in Northeast Florida One hundred and fifty years ago, Florida was shaken by battle, blockade, economic deprivation, and the death of native sons both within and far outside its borders. Today, tributes to the valor and sacrifice of Florida's soldiers, sailors, and civilians can be found from the Panhandle to the Keys. Authors Lees and Gaske look at the diversity of Civil War monuments built in Florida between Reconstruction and the present day, elucidating their emblematic and social dimensions. Most monuments built in Florida honor the Confederacy, praising the valor of Southern soldiers and often extolling the righteousness of their "Lost Cause." At the same time, a fascinating minority of Union monuments also exists in the state--and these bear notably muted messages. Recalling Deeds Immortal shows how the creation of these bronze and stone monuments created new social battlegrounds as, over the years, groups such as the Ladies' Memorial Associations, United Daughters of the Confederacy, and the Grand Army of the Republic competed to control the messages behind the memorialization of fallen soldiers and veterans. Examining the evolution of Civil War monuments, the authors demonstrate that the construction of these memorials is itself an important part of Civil War and post-Civil War history.
ISBN: 9780813049960Publication Date: 2014-10-21
How do I Find Journal Articles?
There are several different approaches to finding journal articles, depending on your starting point.
1. If you know the title of the article:
- Try Articles Plus. For instance, search for the title of the journal and click the "Find It" button to get access.
- Search the Library Catalog for the journal title
2. If you are exploring a topic, use an article index such as ATLA religion Database. This approach is more comprehensive than going to JSTOR which does not include the last five years of journal content. Also, JSTOR only includes a fraction of the journal titles indexed in ATLA or other subject-specific indexes. JSTOR is a great resource for searching for articles across disciplines.
3. If you are looking for a particular journal online, search the Library's e-journal index.
Indexes for Finding Articles In American Studies
- ATLA Religion with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- IBZ: International Bibliography of Periodical Literature This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Citation Linking
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFor University of Chicago settings for Google Scholar, click here.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
