Abstracts of over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages. Major areas of coverage include: Artificial intelligence; Book reviews; CD-ROMs; Computer applications; Information centres; Information technology, storage and management; Internet technology; Knowledge management; Librarianship; Libraries and archives; Library management, use and users; Medical information; Online information retrieval; Publishing and bookselling; Records management; Telecommunications and the Web.
Indexes articles and book reviews in more than 234 key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains over seven hundred American and international journals including not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Articles are included from key publications such as American Architect, Domus, Dwell, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as Burlington Magazine, Journal of Green Building, Metropolitan Museum Journal, and Urban Land. Avery Index also contains references to more than 13,000 obituary citations thereby providing architects, architectural historians, and researchers with an excellent source of biographical and professional information about architects. Among the obituaries indexed are those from four crucial American periodicals since their inception: American Architect (1876), Architectural Forum (1892), Architectural Record (1891), and Progressive Architecture (1920). The Journal of the Royal Institute of British Architects is indexed as far back as 1865, providing an extensive record of English architects.
Other Research Databases
Below are a few other research databases that might be helpful in doing research on public libraries.
Search academic literature (books, journals) on American history.
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
Education research database, includes some information about libraries, reading culture, etc.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), U.S. Department of Education. Since 1966, ERIC has indexed journals, research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and publications of organizations. Full-text of older ERIC documents (non-journal material) are often available on microfiche; note the Accession Number beginning with ED in the ERIC record. The ERIC microfiche is located on the Regenstein B-level.