This is the "Home" page of the "How do I find magazines?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How do I find magazines?  

A guide to finding magazines for your research.
Last Updated: Dec 8, 2011 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/magazines Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Core Magazine Databases

Is there an index?

Indexes help you locate articles within specific magazines.  Most current indexes are online databases. 

Some older periodicals may have their own print intdexes.  If an index is available in our collection, it will be listed in the holdings or circulation status in the Library Catalog or Lens record for the publication.

If you would like to determine if a specific magazine is indexed, the following source can be helpful.

 

Finding Magazines at the University of Chicago Library

Online

To locate specific magazines by title, use our e-journals database.  Or, if you are looking for articles on a topic, search one of our article databases.

In Print

Most recent issues of magazines are shelved in the current periodicals section of each campus library.  In Regenstein Library, magazines can reside in the Current Periodicals Reading Room on the 2nd floor or on the 5th floor reading room (if relating East Asia, the Middle East, or South Asia). Older magazines are usually bound and stored in the bookstacks.  Check the Library Catalog or Lens for specific titles. 

Please note: The Library does not receive all of its periodicals in print.  Some publications are available online only.

On Microfilm

Some magazines are available on microfilm.  Most can be found in the Microforms Collection on the 3rd Floor of Regenstein Library. For individual titles, search the Library Catalog or Lens.

Finding Magazines at Other Libraries

While the University of Chicago Library has a large collection of magazines, it may not have every title that you may need.  Below are some suggested resources for finding magazines at other libraries. 

If a magazine is available at another library, it may be possible to borrow it via Interlibrary Loan.  However, while some libraries will loan magazines on microfilm, many libraries require a specific article citation.  For help, Ask a Librarian.

  • WorldCat  
      
    Search the WorldCat database to locate magazines held by other libraries. For best results, use "Advanced Search", limiting your search to "Serial".
  • Center for Research Libraries
    CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. It has an extremely strong magazine collection (foreign, domestic, and specialized), and liberal borrowing policies.
  • Other Library Catalogs
    This web site links to catalogs at several other core libraries that may be of interest for your research.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Ask a Librarian
Contact Info
Phone: 773-702-4685
Email
Visit Us
Chat::
 

© The University of Chicago Library
1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip