Library Guides: BUSN 38702 81: Choice Architecture in Practice: Cited Reference Searching

Selected Databases With Cited Reference Searching

APA Databases (APA PsycNET) - search all APA Databases via Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Designed as a gateway to the American Psychological Association's databases and designed for locating scholarly literature from the early 1800s to the present. It covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations, conference presentations, technical reports, white papers, standards, policies, book reviews, and more.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
EconLit indexes articles from economics journals, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. It is a very good source for empirical studies on economics and finance.
Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For University of Chicago settings for Google Scholar, click here.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, excluding book reviews. Citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essays, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, & bibliographies. Also includes citations to books and journal articles having to do with linguistics and language topics.
Video tutorial on searching writer's names as subjects
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Cited Reference Searching

Cited reference searching is finding articles that reference a particular author, article, or book. Use cited reference searching to:

determine who has cited specific papers or authors
discover how an idea or innovation has been confirmed, applied, corrected, or developed over time
identify seminal papers
find researchers with common interests
assess the impact of a publication

There are many library databases that provide options for cited reference searching. Watch the tutorial below to learn how to perform a cited reference search in two comprehensive interdisciplinary databases.

For the most comprehensive cited reference search, the Library recommends using multiple databases. For help identifying databases ideal for your discipline, please ask a librarian.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Many references in Google Scholar include a Cited by link to identify other resources that cite that reference.

Important things to know about Google Scholar:

Google Scholar may include more than one version of articles and there are likely to be duplicates in the citing references among the versions.

Web of Science

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is the best known source for finding articles that cite other articles. it includes journals from the humanities and social sciences, despite the name.
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Important things to know about Web of Science

Authors' names are abbreviated, so for best results use wildcards for first names and middle initials: Harper W*
Journal titles are usually abbreviated as well. Use the Web of Science Journals Abbreviation list to identify the correct form to use.
All results in Web of Science have links to citing articles. However, Cited Reference Search will give you the most complete results.

Ask a Librarian

Business & Economics Librarians

Send Email

Contact:

Greg Fleming
Emily Treptow

Regenstein Library Room 360

Subjects: Business, Economics