Skip to main content

Preprints and Technical Reports

Bibliographic Management Tools

Preprints

These are preprint and open access servers of interest to the University of Chicago community. Other article resources are also available on the Technical Reports and Electronic Journals pages.


AMS Directory of Mathematics Preprint and e-Print Servers
American Mathematical Society servers are divided into three categories: umbrella servers which cover all areas of mathematics such as the Mathematics section of the Los Alamos (Ginsparg) e-Print Archive and the MPRESS/MathNet.preprints server, special subject servers and servers administered by mathematics departments and institutes.
ApJ Yellow Pages
Papers submitted to North American astronomy journals.
Astrophysics Data System (ADS) Article Service
NASA-funded project that provides free access to the full text of articles in astronomy and astrophysics. Historic backfiles of most of the major astronomical journals are included. In many cases articles published in the current year are not available through ADS.
arXiv.org
preprint server (formerly LANL Physics E-Prints Archive) from Los Alamos National Laboratory for astrophysics, condensed matter, general relativity, high energy physics, mathematical physics, nuclear physics, general physics, quantum physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science.
BioMed Central
First commercial publisher to offer all research reports (primary papers) in medicine and biology free of charge and to provide a systematic pre-print service for research reports.
bioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution.
BioOne
sponsored by SPARC
CERN Document Server
 
Chemical Physics Preprint Server
fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for the international theoretical chemistry community from Brown University.
ClinMed Netprints
A repository of non-peer reviewed original research in clinical medicine and health research. Authors are able to post articles that have not been accepted for publication or subjected to peer review.
CogPrints
an electronic archive for papers in any area of psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, computer science, philosophy, biology, medicine, anthropology, and many areas in the physical, social, and mathematical sciences that are relevant to cognition.
CoRR
The Computing Research Repository (CoRR), is a subset of and sponsored by the arXiv.org (formerly known as the Los Alamos e-Print archive), the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), and NCSTRL (Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library).
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
E-print Network
a searchable gateway to over 16,000 web sites and databases worldwide containing e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and other disciplines of interest to DOE.
ESO Preprints Database
 
FermiLab Preprints Server
 
HEP Preprints, e-Prints, Articles
HEP preprint database contains bibliographic summaries of more than 345,000 particle physics papers. Included are preprints, journal articles, technical reports, theses, etc. Searchable by author, title, report number, institution, collaboration, and more. Find citations of your favorite author or article. View postscript versions of selected preprints, read abstracts of the e-print archive papers. Need more help?
HUM-MOLGEN
Communication forum in human molecular genetics and molecular biology.
JCP Express
preprint server from the Journal of Chemical Physics.
Mathematical Physics Preprint Archive
from the University of Texas at Austin
Nature Web Focus
The topic of this Nature web focus is the future of access to the scientific literature.
NCSTRL: Networked Computer Science Technical Reports Library
NCSTRL (pronounced ancestral) is an international collection of computer science research reports, preprints and papers made available for non-commercial use from a number of participating institutions and archives. Some of the documents in NCSTRL are part of the technical report collections of participating institutions. For the most part, NCSTRL institutions are universities that grant PhDs in Computer Science or Engineering, with some industrial or government research laboratories.
The Open Archives Initiative
also known as the Santa Fe Convention for the Open Archives, formerly called the Universal Preprint Initiative. Initiative to create a forum in which to discuss and solve questions of interoperability between various author self-archiving solutions, as a way to promote global acceptance of self-archiving.
Particle Physics
"An information portal service linking to electronic publishing and other resources in the fields of experimental and theoretical high energy particle physics"
PeerJ PrePrints
PeerJ is an Open Access, peer-reviewed, scholarly journal. It considers research articles in the Biological Sciences, Medical Sciences, and Health Sciences
Preprints on Conservation Laws
papers on new and recent results concerning conservation laws and related equations. The main focus is on mathematical analysis and numerical methods, but papers concerning applications are also welcome.
PubMED Central
NIH-Operated Site for Electronic Distribution of Life Sciences Research Reports. "A web-based repository for barrier-free access to primary reports in the life sciences" Integrated with the PubMed
PubSCIENCE
Provides users the capability to search across a large compendium of peer reviewed journals with a focus on the physical sciences and other disciplines of concern to the Department of Energy (one of the main sponsors of the project.) Provides access to preprints and other related materials for science and technology.
Scientific Commons
A project that aims to provide the world's largest communication medium for scientific knowledge products.  It's functions include identifying repositories and indexing full text documents.
SLAC/SPIRES Database
Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) library of databases run under SPIRES (Stanford Public Information REtrieval System).
Scirus
A search engine limited to scientific related information.  Allows researcher to search "allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information."
SPARC
SPARC., the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition, is an alliance of universities, research libraries, and organizations built as a constructive response to market dysfunctions in the scholarly communication system.
Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI) Preprints
 
TechXtra
Search engine for finding "articles, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources" in engineering, computer science, and mathematics.
Virtual Technical Report Center: EPrings, Preprints, & Technical Reports on the Web
Provides links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports from a large list of institutions.

Subject specialist

Barb Kern's picture
Barb Kern
Contact:
Co-Director, Science Libraries Division

Crerar Library Room 129

773-702-8717

Off-campus Access

Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.

If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. Use the ProxyIt bookmarklet in these situations. There's more information on our guide to off-campus access