Skip to main content

Preprints and Technical Reports

U.S. Atomic Energy Commission

Search the catalog for a full listing of our U.S. Atomic Energy Commission Technical Reports holdings

  • 2B-R. U.S. Atomic Energy Commission. Oak Ridge, USAEC, 19 - 541.2 989 Crerar Dewey Collection

  • BNL. U.S. Atomic Energy Commission. Oak Ridge, U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, Technical Information Division, 194-. 541.2 17 Crerar Dewey Collection

  • LA. U.S. Atomic Energy Commission. Oak Ridge, U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, Technical Information Division, 194-. 541.2 15 Crerar Dewey Collection

  • KAPL-M-AJB. U.S. Atomic Energy Commission. Oak Ridge, USAEC, 19- 541.2 541 Crerar Dewey Collection

  • NPG. U.S. Atomic Energy Commission. Oak Ridge, Technical Information Service. 541.2 182 Crerar Dewey Collection 

  • ORNL / United States Atomic Energy Commission.Oak Ridge : U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, Technical Information Division, 194- 541.2 8 Crerar Dewey Collection

  • TEM. U.S. Atomic Energy Commission. Oak Ridge, 19- 541.2 63 Crerar Dewey Collection 

 

Bibliographic Management Tools

RefWorks, EndNote and Zotero are research management tools that help you collect, organize, and share citations from library databases and catalogs.  The Library provides instruction and reference support in using RefWorks and EndNote.  Visit the pages below for more information, or contact me with questions.

RefWorks

EndNote

Zotero

Technical Reports

General
Department of Defense
Department of Energy
  • Information Bridge. Public access to 294,000+ full-text documents and bibliographic citations for documents produced by the DOE. Primarily from 1991 forward.
  • Energy Citations Database. "....provides free access to over 2,454,000 science research citations with continued growth through regular updates. There are over 296,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward, available via the database."
     
  • E-Print Network. "...a vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, all full-text searchable."
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Federal Aviation Agency
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
NASA

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) "Over 500,000 aerospace-related citations, over 200,000 full-text online documents, and over 500,000 images and videos are available."

  • Index to Scientific and Technical Aerospace Reports (STAR) (print), with bibliographic citations for technical reports, journal articles and conference proceedings is available in the Crerar Library. Catalog record: http://pi.lib.uchicago.edu/1001/cat/bib/104172
United States Geological Survey
Other
  • National Technical Information Service (NTIS) makes available the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. Subject coverage in the NTIS Database includes: agriculture, biotechnology, business, communication, energy, engineering, environment, health and safety, medicine, research and development, science, space, technology, and transportation; most records include abstracts.
     
  • Government Reports Announcements and Index. (print and online). Catalog record: http://pi.lib.uchicago.edu/1001/cat/bib/388080
     
  • Science Accelerator : Contains resources made available by the the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI).  Includes R& D results, project descriptions and accomplishments.
     
  • TechXtra. Search engine for finding "articles, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources" in engineering, computer science, and mathematics.
     
  • TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library. Provides links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports from a large list of institutions

Subject specialist

Barb Kern's picture
Barb Kern
Contact:
Co-Director, Science Libraries Division

Crerar Library Room 129

773-702-8717

Off-campus Access

Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.

If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. Use the ProxyIt bookmarklet in these situations. There's more information on our guide to off-campus access